FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[Q] When Flashing AOSP/AOKP/CM/PA Roms

256 posts
Thanks Meter: 66
 
By pahlerc1, Senior Member on 13th May 2014, 07:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey, sorry for such a noob question, I do lots of reading on here and tried to post within a certain rom, C-Rom Kit-Kat 4.4.2 5/13/14, and it won't allow me since I have never posted anything on XDA. I have the Verizon HTC ONE M8 and it is bootloader unlocked, s-off, and on the stock rom with build number 1.56, with lots of customization but I found a new rom I wanted to try. It is an AOSP rom like mentioned above but I never seemed to find what build number it is on? I know with a SENSE rom you have to be careful of what build number your phone is, whether it is 1.54 before the update or 1.56 after the update.

My question is, when flashing an AOSP/AOKP/CM rom through TWRP, does the build number matter? In all the AOSP roms I never haven't been able to find where the OP states which it is, making me wonder if I need to worry about it or not? I want to flash away from the stock rom but only to an AOSP type rom.. I want to be careful because since we don't have a removable battery, I am worried I will be stuck in bootloop and I am not sure how to get out of it without a battery pull.. (I know holding power and volume up will restart the phone but how would you get back into recovery to restore a backup?)

Also while I am at my first post, do you recommend TWRP, CWM, or Philz touch recovery? I would like to stick to one recovery throughout the tenure of the rooted ONE M8, makes keeping backups

Thanks for the help and I greatly appreciate it! And I apologize again for such a noob question..
Last edited by pahlerc1; 13th May 2014 at 07:39 PM. Reason: Added a question, more description
 
 
13th May 2014, 08:13 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pahlerc1

Hey, sorry for such a noob question, I do lots of reading on here and tried to post within a certain rom, C-Rom Kit-Kat 4.4.2 5/13/14, and it won't allow me since I have never posted anything on XDA. I have the Verizon HTC ONE M8 and it is bootloader unlocked, s-off, and on the stock rom with build number 1.56, with lots of customization but I found a new rom I wanted to try. It is an AOSP rom like mentioned above but I never seemed to find what build number it is on? I know with a SENSE rom you have to be careful of what build number your phone is, whether it is 1.54 before the update or 1.56 after the update.

My question is, when flashing an AOSP/AOKP/CM rom through TWRP, does the build number matter? In all the AOSP roms I never haven't been able to find where the OP states which it is, making me wonder if I need to worry about it or not? I want to flash away from the stock rom but only to an AOSP type rom.. I want to be careful because since we don't have a removable battery, I am worried I will be stuck in bootloop and I am not sure how to get out of it without a battery pull.. (I know holding power and volume up will restart the phone but how would you get back into recovery to restore a backup?)

Also while I am at my first post, do you recommend TWRP, CWM, or Philz touch recovery? I would like to stick to one recovery throughout the tenure of the rooted ONE M8, makes keeping backups

Thanks for the help and I greatly appreciate it! And I apologize again for such a noob question..

Correct me if im wrong, but the sense build is just telling what that ROM is based on. Once your S-OFF, you can flash them as you please. I know the bootloader version was what would cause bricks in the past (flashing a 4.2.2 rom in a 4.3 bootloader) but i havent seen anything like that for the M8 yet.

Vol DOwn and power will get you to hboot which will let you get to recovery. I use CWM but theyre all comparable, just personal preference.
13th May 2014, 08:34 PM |#3  
pahlerc1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Newport, KY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe21599

Correct me if im wrong, but the sense build is just telling what that ROM is based on. Once your S-OFF, you can flash them as you please. I know the bootloader version was what would cause bricks in the past (flashing a 4.2.2 rom in a 4.3 bootloader) but i havent seen anything like that for the M8 yet.

Vol DOwn and power will get you to hboot which will let you get to recovery. I use CWM but theyre all comparable, just personal preference.

Thanks for the reply! I can't wait to flash this new AOSP rom so I can remove all the bloatware put on by Verizon and Sense.. Just want to vierfy, so if the build number no longer matters since I am s-off, you're saying I can flash the ARHD rom on my phone even though it states the build number 1.54 and I have 1.56? Because I would also love to have a stock sense rom with lots of optimizations and tweaks for performance with less bloatware.

Thanks again
13th May 2014, 09:09 PM |#4  
pahlerc1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Newport, KY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pahlerc1

Thanks for the reply! I can't wait to flash this new AOSP rom so I can remove all the bloatware put on by Verizon and Sense.. Just want to vierfy, so if the build number no longer matters since I am s-off, you're saying I can flash the ARHD rom on my phone even though it states the build number 1.54 and I have 1.56? Because I would also love to have a stock sense rom with lots of optimizations and tweaks for performance with less bloatware.

Thanks again

I just read that if you have the newest 1.55.6.. firmware and baseband and try to flash roms with the older baseband (1.54) then you might run into problems with losing root and and other issues..

Can someone please verify this? Currently on stock rom, rooted, s off, bootloader unlocked, with baseband 1.55.6.. Looking into flashing either AOSP rom or Sense rom but does it matter if its based on 1.54 or the newest 1.56?

Thanks, the help is greatly appreciated
14th May 2014, 12:03 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pahlerc1

I just read that if you have the newest 1.55.6.. firmware and baseband and try to flash roms with the older baseband (1.54) then you might run into problems with losing root and and other issues..

Can someone please verify this? Currently on stock rom, rooted, s off, bootloader unlocked, with baseband 1.55.6.. Looking into flashing either AOSP rom or Sense rom but does it matter if its based on 1.54 or the newest 1.56?

Thanks, the help is greatly appreciated

you're just gonna end up with whatever baseband you flash as the latest baseband. where are you seeing people lose root bc of flashing a different baseband?
14th May 2014, 04:48 PM |#6  
pahlerc1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Newport, KY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe21599

you're just gonna end up with whatever baseband you flash as the latest baseband. where are you seeing people lose root bc of flashing a different baseband?

It was in a different thread, can't recall which.. I have been doing way too much reading I think it was in one last few pages of the venom rom thread.. I'll just wait for Venom and Skyfall to update their baseband to the latest 1.56 build. No worries. Thanks.
15th May 2014, 05:26 PM |#7  
ebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Updated to the latest VZW firmware, and have had no issues using the multi-variant roms, which use the non-Verizon versions. My radio base still reflects the updated version (0321). On Viper right now with no issues, waiting for AOKP. Been using 2.7.0.2 TWRP with no problems. If you have a concern about flashing any ROM (and/or gapps if you are trying an AOSP ROM), just make sure you make a backup in recovery before anything else, and if the new stuff doesn't work well or borks your device, just learn how to get back into recovery and restore your backup. Read first, try second.
16th May 2014, 03:14 PM |#8  
pahlerc1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Newport, KY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebb

Updated to the latest VZW firmware, and have had no issues using the multi-variant roms, which use the non-Verizon versions. My radio base still reflects the updated version (0321). On Viper right now with no issues, waiting for AOKP. Been using 2.7.0.2 TWRP with no problems. If you have a concern about flashing any ROM (and/or gapps if you are trying an AOSP ROM), just make sure you make a backup in recovery before anything else, and if the new stuff doesn't work well or borks your device, just learn how to get back into recovery and restore your backup. Read first, try second.

Okay thanks for the help. I always make sure to read first and create a backup, I've made the mistake once and took a long process to get it solved and won't let that happen again that's for sure! Thanks for the response, I just flashed Skyfall 2.5 and it is amazing!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes