Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Radio modems (MB1) and Texting

OP jeremy702

12th May 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Duke City
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
So we know going to anything above a MB1 modem on none touchwiz ROMs causes texts to start to not get sent until you go back to MB1/TW and let the phone reregister the SIM; but has there been any progress into maybe finding out why? Was there a new modem on the Rogers 4.3 update that might have fixed that? Is there something in TW that does the registration to VZW that should get added to the none TW ROMs?
13th May 2014, 05:49 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Miui for vzw galaxy s3 had similar issues...but have not found any help on this issue any where else..

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
13th May 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #3  
carngeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
I'm on ML1 with Hellkat 4.4.2 (CM based) and haven't had any texting issues.

Is this only on the stock app? I'm using GoSMS and haven't had any issues.
14th May 2014, 05:25 AM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 14
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carngeX

I'm on ML1 with Hellkat 4.4.2 (CM based) and haven't had any texting issues.

Is this only on the stock app? I'm using GoSMS and haven't had any issues.

It's an issue based on peoples locations. Consider yourself lucky to be unaffected.
14th May 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #5  
carngeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercutetom

It's an issue based on peoples locations. Consider yourself lucky to be unaffected.

Sounded like most people affected were East-coast, right? I'm Midwest, so that could be why.

I also read that they were all using the stock messaging app though, too, and people thought it could be somehow tied to some sort of "signature" the stock AOSP/CM messaging app sends it's SMS messages. Didn't see anybody mention if they were using a different texting app like GoSMS, Chomp, or Handcent.
15th May 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Duke City
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by carngeX

Sounded like most people affected were East-coast, right? I'm Midwest, so that could be why.

I also read that they were all using the stock messaging app though, too, and people thought it could be somehow tied to some sort of "signature" the stock AOSP/CM messaging app sends it's SMS messages. Didn't see anybody mention if they were using a different texting app like GoSMS, Chomp, or Handcent.

I'm effected here in New Mexico.. it works for a while then stops. So I went back to MB1 and I'm staying there for now. Sucks, but at least I can text. It's a silly problem to have too, since the only way to get it back is to do the TW thing.
15th May 2014, 06:06 AM   |  #7  
carngeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy702

I'm effected here in New Mexico.. it works for a while then stops. So I went back to MB1 and I'm staying there for now. Sucks, but at least I can text. It's a silly problem to have too, since the only way to get it back is to do the TW thing.

Are you using the stock texting app or a 3rd party app? Nobody is saying what texting app they're using, besides a few that mentioned they were just using stock.
16th May 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Duke City
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by carngeX

Are you using the stock texting app or a 3rd party app? Nobody is saying what texting app they're using, besides a few that mentioned they were just using stock.

I was using the stock messaging app. I also tried a few others GoSMS and another one and none of them changed the fact that until I did airplane mode on/off I couldn't send a text. once airplane mode was cycled i could send one text.. or when another one came in, then one text.
16th May 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Central PA
Thanks Meter: 131
 
543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy702

I was using the stock messaging app. I also tried a few others GoSMS and another one and none of them changed the fact that until I did airplane mode on/off I couldn't send a text. once airplane mode was cycled i could send one text.. or when another one came in, then one text.

I live in central PA and had the issue where I could only send 1 sms/mms and had to reboot. I was on the ML1 modem (with MF1 firmware) and what worked for me and others is to go back to a TW rom. Then flash the MB1 AIO firmware. Make sure you can send multiple sms/mms. If they go through, you should be good to use AOSP roms. After doing this, I tried CM11, C-Rom and PacMan and all 3 allowed me to send sms/mms. The key is to stay on the MB1 modem. Don't upgrade to a more recent modem.
17th May 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #10  
cooldman224's Avatar
Member
Flag Arlington VA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by capt730

I live in central PA and had the issue where I could only send 1 sms/mms and had to reboot. I was on the ML1 modem (with MF1 firmware) and what worked for me and others is to go back to a TW rom. Then flash the MB1 AIO firmware. Make sure you can send multiple sms/mms. If they go through, you should be good to use AOSP roms. After doing this, I tried CM11, C-Rom and PacMan and all 3 allowed me to send sms/mms. The key is to stay on the MB1 modem. Don't upgrade to a more recent modem.

Yeah pretty much this. I'm in VA and had the texting issue with the ML1 modem and the MF1 firmware. Right now I'm on the MB1 modem and the MB1 firmware and all is well.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes