Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,632 Members 36,768 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

System updates is not available.

Tip us?
 
AKShotgun
Old
#1  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Default System updates is not available.

When going to do the KitKat update after freshly sbf'ing to stock I am greeted with a prompt(when I go to settings>about phone>system update) that says the following; "System updates is not available without a Motorola service account". It asks me if I want to set up an account and when I try it just has a spinning circle that never goes away. I am on 9.30.1. I have tried a factory reset multiple times with no success. Any ideas on a fix?
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
thewraith420
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 209
Join Date: Sep 2011
Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
 
AKShotgun
Old
#3  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420 View Post
Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
thewraith420
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 209
Join Date: Sep 2011
Look over in the development section. Someone has posted the update.zip if your somewhat technically inclined it's not too bad to install

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
 
dcviper
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun View Post
Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.
 
AKShotgun
Old
#6  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcviper View Post
I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.
Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
dcviper
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun View Post
Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.
No arguments here, but if I get a refurbished phone out of the deal, why not?
 
deathwithafi
Old
#8  
deathwithafi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcviper View Post
No arguments here, but if I get a refurbished phone out of the deal, why not?
i am getting no update available at this time, do you have to have a strong wifi connection e.g. broadband vs. ****ty iphone hotspot that maxes out at like a hundred and fifty k
 
AKShotgun
Old
#9  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Mine now said there is an update available so I hit download and nothing happened. Nothing downloaded. I want my KK

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
AKShotgun
Old
#10  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Okay I have bad news. I just got off the phone with a tech support agent at Motorola. They asked for my IMEI, I gave it to them and they told me they could tell i was rooted(which is funny because I'M ACTUALLY NOT ) and that the Motorola servers don't push updates to rooted phones. makes me question a lot because when i was actually rooted i got the update, but now that i'm not i don't? This is a mess. I just want my update.
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more