FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

System updates is not available.

209 posts
Thanks Meter: 72
 
By AKShotgun, Senior Member on 16th May 2014, 11:26 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
When going to do the KitKat update after freshly sbf'ing to stock I am greeted with a prompt(when I go to settings>about phone>system update) that says the following; "System updates is not available without a Motorola service account". It asks me if I want to set up an account and when I try it just has a spinning circle that never goes away. I am on 9.30.1. I have tried a factory reset multiple times with no success. Any ideas on a fix?
 
 
17th May 2014, 12:02 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 12:17 AM |#3  
AKShotgun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk

Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th May 2014, 12:19 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Look over in the development section. Someone has posted the update.zip if your somewhat technically inclined it's not too bad to install

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 12:20 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun

Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.
17th May 2014, 12:24 AM |#6  
AKShotgun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcviper

I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.

Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th May 2014, 12:31 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun

Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.

No arguments here, but if I get a refurbished phone out of the deal, why not?
17th May 2014, 01:32 AM |#8  
deathwithafi's Avatar
Member
Flag parkersburg, wv
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcviper

No arguments here, but if I get a refurbished phone out of the deal, why not?

i am getting no update available at this time, do you have to have a strong wifi connection e.g. broadband vs. ****ty iphone hotspot that maxes out at like a hundred and fifty k
17th May 2014, 04:21 PM |#9  
AKShotgun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Mine now said there is an update available so I hit download and nothing happened. Nothing downloaded. I want my KK

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th May 2014, 01:23 AM |#10  
AKShotgun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Okay I have bad news. I just got off the phone with a tech support agent at Motorola. They asked for my IMEI, I gave it to them and they told me they could tell i was rooted(which is funny because I'M ACTUALLY NOT ) and that the Motorola servers don't push updates to rooted phones. makes me question a lot because when i was actually rooted i got the update, but now that i'm not i don't? This is a mess. I just want my update.
18th May 2014, 02:19 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun

Okay I have bad news. I just got off the phone with a tech support agent at Motorola. They asked for my IMEI, I gave it to them and they told me they could tell i was rooted(which is funny because I'M ACTUALLY NOT ) and that the Motorola servers don't push updates to rooted phones. makes me question a lot because when i was actually rooted i got the update, but now that i'm not i don't? This is a mess. I just want my update.

Well after that post I just unrooted my phone and voila...the "Update not available" Message ist gone and now I get an "your phone is up to date..." message.....God damnit

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes