FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] Phone's In Trouble, wondering if it's still fixable?

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By TheRedFlash, Junior Member on 15th May 2014, 07:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
To cut the story short, my EVO was working fine, it was S-off, Rooted, Unlocked with a custom rom. Two nights ago i decide to upgrade my HBOOT to 2.10 using RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_Sprint_WWE_4.13.651.4 and everything went downhill from there.

This is my current situation and wondering if it's still fixable:

Phone is RELOCKED,Unrooted but S-off. Stuck in a bootloop where it stays on the Splash screen no matter what rom you install. FastBoot commands give me FAILED (remote : not allowed), tried re-using RUU but I keep getting Error 120: BATTERY under 30% while my phone battery is at 84%, I'm stuck and don't know what to do anymore.

and yes, I can still use recovery TWRP.

Any suggestions? Please and thanks for the help.
 
 
16th May 2014, 01:40 AM |#2  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Flint
Thanks Meter: 362
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

To cut the story short, my EVO was working fine, it was S-off, Rooted, Unlocked with a custom rom. Two nights ago i decide to upgrade my HBOOT to 2.10 using RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_Sprint_WWE_4.13.651.4 and everything went downhill from there.

This is my current situation and wondering if it's still fixable:

Phone is RELOCKED,Unrooted but S-off. Stuck in a bootloop where it stays on the Splash screen no matter what rom you install. FastBoot commands give me FAILED (remote : not allowed), tried re-using RUU but I keep getting Error 120: BATTERY under 30% while my phone battery is at 84%, I'm stuck and don't know what to do anymore.

and yes, I can still use recovery TWRP.

Any suggestions? Please and thanks for the help.

Are you installing roms for the new layout

Sent from my EVO using XDA Free mobile app
16th May 2014, 01:42 AM |#3  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,730
 
Donate to Me
More
Also, did you unlock the bootloader again? Do this before you do anything else. Also, as stated above, make sure you're flashing ROM's based on the new format. ROM's based on the old partition format (software version 3.17 or older) will not work. Additionally, what version of TWRP are you using? You have to use TWRP that's for the new format, also.

Sent from my HTC device
Last edited by Magnum_Enforcer; 16th May 2014 at 01:52 AM.
16th May 2014, 02:22 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke

Are you installing roms for the new layout

Yea and I updated the HBOOT because people usually say that updating is for the better for call qualities and signal retrieval.
16th May 2014, 02:28 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Also, did you unlock the bootloader again? Do this before you do anything else. Also, as stated above, make sure you're flashing ROM's based on the new format. ROM's based on the old partition format (software version 3.17 or older) will not work. Additionally, what version of TWRP are you using? You have to use TWRP that's for the new format, also.

No, I haven't attempted to unlock it again, but will do so now. Also, these are the two roms that i have tried and both didn't work Viper4G 4.0.0 and the Sense 5 (4.3) Y18 Version. They are both made for the new partition. Well i started with TWRP 2.7.0.0b but then downgraded it to 2.6.0.0 since i thought maybe the TWRP is failing to install my ROM's correctly.
16th May 2014, 02:57 AM |#6  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,730
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

No, I haven't attempted to unlock it again, but will do so now. Also, these are the two roms that i have tried and both didn't work Viper4G 4.0.0 and the Sense 5 (4.3) Y18 Version. They are both made for the new partition. Well i started with TWRP 2.7.0.0b but then downgraded it to 2.6.0.0 since i thought maybe the TWRP is failing to install my ROM's correctly.

Use TWRP from the 3rd post in the thread below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2751873

Sent from my HTC device
The Following User Says Thank You to Magnum_Enforcer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2014, 03:06 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Use TWRP from the 3rd post in the thread below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2751873

So far so good, I was able to unlock bootloader again and flashed the recovery you gave me. Should I flash a ROM now to see if it worked?






*Tip for those who can't get bootloader to re-unlock again through Fastboot. Put the Unlock_code.bin in the same directory as Fastboot and just use the command fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin*


UPDATE:

Tried flashing a ROM, everything goes well but at the end of installation or wipe I get E: unable to mount /system and I cannot mount manually neither through recovery. I am also noticing that when the phone restarts it stays on the splash screen still but my HTCSyn Manager seems to be detecting it because it pops up mentioning that it couldn't connect to my phone.
Last edited by TheRedFlash; 16th May 2014 at 04:35 AM. Reason: update
16th May 2014, 10:44 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

So far so good, I was able to unlock bootloader again and flashed the recovery you gave me. Should I flash a ROM now to see if it worked?






*Tip for those who can't get bootloader to re-unlock again through Fastboot. Put the Unlock_code.bin in the same directory as Fastboot and just use the command fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin*


UPDATE:

Tried flashing a ROM, everything goes well but at the end of installation or wipe I get E: unable to mount /system and I cannot mount manually neither through recovery. I am also noticing that when the phone restarts it stays on the splash screen still but my HTCSyn Manager seems to be detecting it because it pops up mentioning that it couldn't connect to my phone.

I got that error too, it sounds like you are not using the correct version of TWRP for the new partition layout.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

TWRP Recovery 2.7.0.8b or 4.13.651.4 Firmware + TWRP Recovery

Should work.
Last edited by RChris173; 16th May 2014 at 10:48 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to RChris173 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2014, 12:26 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

I got that error too, it sounds like you are not using the correct version of TWRP for the new partition layout.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

TWRP Recovery 2.7.0.8b or 4.13.651.4 Firmware + TWRP Recovery

Should work.

Chris, I got it working this morning, by coincidence/luck. I put my phone in RUU mode using fastboot oem rebootRUU and then ran the actually RUU utility and from there on it took off. Either way, thanks for you reply man, it'll probably help someone when they encounter this situation.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes