FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Phone's In Trouble, wondering if it's still fixable?

15th May 2014, 07:41 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
To cut the story short, my EVO was working fine, it was S-off, Rooted, Unlocked with a custom rom. Two nights ago i decide to upgrade my HBOOT to 2.10 using RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_Sprint_WWE_4.13.651.4 and everything went downhill from there.

This is my current situation and wondering if it's still fixable:

Phone is RELOCKED,Unrooted but S-off. Stuck in a bootloop where it stays on the Splash screen no matter what rom you install. FastBoot commands give me FAILED (remote : not allowed), tried re-using RUU but I keep getting Error 120: BATTERY under 30% while my phone battery is at 84%, I'm stuck and don't know what to do anymore.

and yes, I can still use recovery TWRP.

Any suggestions? Please and thanks for the help.
 
 
16th May 2014, 01:40 AM |#2  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Flint
Thanks Meter: 362
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

To cut the story short, my EVO was working fine, it was S-off, Rooted, Unlocked with a custom rom. Two nights ago i decide to upgrade my HBOOT to 2.10 using RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_Sprint_WWE_4.13.651.4 and everything went downhill from there.

This is my current situation and wondering if it's still fixable:

Phone is RELOCKED,Unrooted but S-off. Stuck in a bootloop where it stays on the Splash screen no matter what rom you install. FastBoot commands give me FAILED (remote : not allowed), tried re-using RUU but I keep getting Error 120: BATTERY under 30% while my phone battery is at 84%, I'm stuck and don't know what to do anymore.

and yes, I can still use recovery TWRP.

Any suggestions? Please and thanks for the help.

Are you installing roms for the new layout

Sent from my EVO using XDA Free mobile app
16th May 2014, 01:42 AM |#3  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,583
 
Donate to Me
More
Also, did you unlock the bootloader again? Do this before you do anything else. Also, as stated above, make sure you're flashing ROM's based on the new format. ROM's based on the old partition format (software version 3.17 or older) will not work. Additionally, what version of TWRP are you using? You have to use TWRP that's for the new format, also.

Sent from my HTC device
Last edited by Magnum_Enforcer; 16th May 2014 at 01:52 AM.
16th May 2014, 02:22 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke

Are you installing roms for the new layout

Yea and I updated the HBOOT because people usually say that updating is for the better for call qualities and signal retrieval.
16th May 2014, 02:28 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Also, did you unlock the bootloader again? Do this before you do anything else. Also, as stated above, make sure you're flashing ROM's based on the new format. ROM's based on the old partition format (software version 3.17 or older) will not work. Additionally, what version of TWRP are you using? You have to use TWRP that's for the new format, also.

No, I haven't attempted to unlock it again, but will do so now. Also, these are the two roms that i have tried and both didn't work Viper4G 4.0.0 and the Sense 5 (4.3) Y18 Version. They are both made for the new partition. Well i started with TWRP 2.7.0.0b but then downgraded it to 2.6.0.0 since i thought maybe the TWRP is failing to install my ROM's correctly.
16th May 2014, 02:57 AM |#6  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,583
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

No, I haven't attempted to unlock it again, but will do so now. Also, these are the two roms that i have tried and both didn't work Viper4G 4.0.0 and the Sense 5 (4.3) Y18 Version. They are both made for the new partition. Well i started with TWRP 2.7.0.0b but then downgraded it to 2.6.0.0 since i thought maybe the TWRP is failing to install my ROM's correctly.

Use TWRP from the 3rd post in the thread below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2751873

Sent from my HTC device
The Following User Says Thank You to Magnum_Enforcer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2014, 03:06 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Use TWRP from the 3rd post in the thread below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2751873

So far so good, I was able to unlock bootloader again and flashed the recovery you gave me. Should I flash a ROM now to see if it worked?






*Tip for those who can't get bootloader to re-unlock again through Fastboot. Put the Unlock_code.bin in the same directory as Fastboot and just use the command fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin*


UPDATE:

Tried flashing a ROM, everything goes well but at the end of installation or wipe I get E: unable to mount /system and I cannot mount manually neither through recovery. I am also noticing that when the phone restarts it stays on the splash screen still but my HTCSyn Manager seems to be detecting it because it pops up mentioning that it couldn't connect to my phone.
Last edited by TheRedFlash; 16th May 2014 at 04:35 AM. Reason: update
16th May 2014, 10:44 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedFlash

So far so good, I was able to unlock bootloader again and flashed the recovery you gave me. Should I flash a ROM now to see if it worked?






*Tip for those who can't get bootloader to re-unlock again through Fastboot. Put the Unlock_code.bin in the same directory as Fastboot and just use the command fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin*


UPDATE:

Tried flashing a ROM, everything goes well but at the end of installation or wipe I get E: unable to mount /system and I cannot mount manually neither through recovery. I am also noticing that when the phone restarts it stays on the splash screen still but my HTCSyn Manager seems to be detecting it because it pops up mentioning that it couldn't connect to my phone.

I got that error too, it sounds like you are not using the correct version of TWRP for the new partition layout.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

TWRP Recovery 2.7.0.8b or 4.13.651.4 Firmware + TWRP Recovery

Should work.
Last edited by RChris173; 16th May 2014 at 10:48 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to RChris173 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2014, 12:26 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

I got that error too, it sounds like you are not using the correct version of TWRP for the new partition layout.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

TWRP Recovery 2.7.0.8b or 4.13.651.4 Firmware + TWRP Recovery

Should work.

Chris, I got it working this morning, by coincidence/luck. I put my phone in RUU mode using fastboot oem rebootRUU and then ran the actually RUU utility and from there on it took off. Either way, thanks for you reply man, it'll probably help someone when they encounter this situation.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes