Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,443 Members 38,876 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[URGENT HELP NEEDED] Recovery not working, can not boot past fastboot

Tip us?
 
jova33
Old
(Last edited by jova33; 17th May 2014 at 10:42 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 788
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Default [URGENT HELP NEEDED] Recovery not working, can not boot past fastboot

I went from stock to unlocked, installed TWRP using fastboot, made a backup of stock, flashed nV RLS 1.1 no problem. Went to install nV RLS 2 today and TWRP screwed up the clean install somehow, it booted, but with FCs everywhere. I booted back to recovery, wiped for another clean install and TWRP did a hot reboot of the sorts, then it would just boot to the boot animation and reboot. Went back into TWRP, tried to restore a nandroid, and it failed. Hot reboot from recovery again. I thought it was just a problem with TWRP, so I installed PhilZ through fastboot. I was able to boot into PhilZ, went to do a full wipe, it started, then hot reboot. I attempted to install nV RLS 2 from Philz, and in the middle of the aroma installer, hot reboot. I reinstalled TWRP through fastboot, and it just does a hot reboot about 3 seconds into it.

I've never had this problem with any other phone. Frustrating. I can't get it to stay in recovery long enough to pull the internal storage to the computer. Any fix for this?

EDIT: Success. I did the RUU back to stock thing, then reinstalled TWRP, then I was able to restore one of my TWRP backups. I posted this at 1:16 AM, and now it's 4:40 am. That was a painful learning experience. I must've messed up one of the partitions somehow. I don't really know.
 
izzaeroth
Old
#2  
izzaeroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 145
Posts: 294
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jova33 View Post
I went from stock to unlocked, installed TWRP using fastboot, made a backup of stock, flashed nV RLS 1.1 no problem. Went to install nV RLS 2 today and TWRP screwed up the clean install somehow, it booted, but with FCs everywhere. I booted back to recovery, wiped for another clean install and TWRP did a hot reboot of the sorts, then it would just boot to the boot animation and reboot. Went back into TWRP, tried to restore a nandroid, and it failed. Hot reboot from recovery again. I thought it was just a problem with TWRP, so I installed PhilZ through fastboot. I was able to boot into PhilZ, went to do a full wipe, it started, then hot reboot. I attempted to install nV RLS 2 from Philz, and in the middle of the aroma installer, hot reboot. I reinstalled TWRP through fastboot, and it just does a hot reboot about 3 seconds into it.

I've never had this problem with any other phone. Frustrating. I can't get it to stay in recovery long enough to pull the internal storage to the computer. Any fix for this?
what happens if you just do: fastboot boot <recovery name>? i can't say ive had this issue b4, but its something to try
The Following User Says Thank You to izzaeroth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jova33
Old
(Last edited by jova33; 17th May 2014 at 08:46 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 788
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzaeroth View Post
what happens if you just do: fastboot boot <recovery name>? i can't say ive had this issue b4, but its something to try
well somehow Philz works for adb purposes. Hot reboot if I try and actually do anything with it though. I'm doing an adb pull /data/media/0 right now. I think I'm just going to do that RUU and factory reset this thing and start over.

edit: fastboot boot twrprecovery.img yields the same results as trying to boot it from the phone.
 
jova33
Old
(Last edited by jova33; 17th May 2014 at 10:46 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 788
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
And from now on TiBu backups are going on the SD card.

Edit: I fixed the problem some 3 hours later. Still don't know wtf happened though. Had to revert completely back to stock to restore a nandroid.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes