Team Win Recovery Project for Tornado 348

more

PhotoMath: A Math Beginner’s Dream App

more

Leaked Galaxy S6 Apps Hit the Forums

more

Fix Untinted Recent Panels on Lollipop

more
Post Reply

Could not setup Chromecast after factory reset

OP TheRicolaa10

16th May 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #21  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 918
 
2,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRicolaa10

Problems are back again... Today I switched my Chromecast in another TV (Philips), again he saw no network, not recognisable. So resetted my Chromecast again but I can't get trough the setup process now, so I keep trying right now.

Edit:
Do you think to buy a new Chromecast to solve the problem?

It might be a WiFi connectivity issue, but it's sounding more like a hardware problem with the (Chromecast) unit itself...

If you can, I would pursue an RMA replacement with Google or a retailer exchange.
16th May 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Do you have more than one wifi access point running?
16th May 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #23  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I have in my bedroom a WiFi extender, but it's not running right now. So that is not the issue. I bought my Chromecast via a little webshop that at that time imported Chromecasts, because it was not available in Holland. So do I need to go to Google Play Devices or what? Or should I buy a new one?
16th May 2014, 06:59 PM   |  #24  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 918
 
2,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRicolaa10

I have in my bedroom a WiFi extender, but it's not running right now. So that is not the issue. I bought my Chromecast via a little webshop that at that time imported Chromecasts, because it was not available in Holland. So do I need to go to Google Play Devices or what? Or should I buy a new one?

Hmm, that's a tough one. The warranty is probably not valid outside of the country of original sale (ie, USA), so probably cost-prohibitive to get it exchanged in the US.

If a local shop has one that they are willing to let you test or exchange, that might be an option. If they let you test or exchange for another unit, you can determine if it's a problem with the specific Chromecast you have.
17th May 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #25  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I think I'm going to buy a new one. I did not manage to get trough the setup process after couples times of trying and resetting.. Grrrr...
17th May 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Problems which can occur during initial setup:
Phone/tablet connects to CC as the AP, which won't work.
Phone must operate on the 2.4ghz band during setup. Later you can again switch to 5ghz, thankfully.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes