Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 41,860 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Car Mode?

Tip us?
 
akhobbes
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Car Mode?

The M7 had an app for Car Mode after an update. I can't figure it out for the life of me for the M8!!! I've read on some other sites that Car Mode is present on the M8, but where?

Anybody figure this out? I have the ATT version.
 
jaythenut
Old
#2  
jaythenut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1451
Posts: 5,008
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhobbes View Post
The M7 had an app for Car Mode after an update. I can't figure it out for the life of me for the M8!!! I've read on some other sites that Car Mode is present on the M8, but where?

Anybody figure this out? I have the ATT version.
on mine its in app draw under car
i have uk m8
 
pedderd
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hertford
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaythenut View Post
on mine its in app draw under car
i have uk m8
Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.
 
asxichap
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd View Post
Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.
I've got a UK M8 and the D190 car cradle. As soon as I place my phone in the cradle, it automatically connects to my car, without issues. No audio problems whatsoever.
 
pedderd
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hertford
Quote:
Originally Posted by asxichap View Post
I've got a UK M8 and the D190 car cradle. As soon as I place my phone in the cradle, it automatically connects to my car, without issues. No audio problems whatsoever.
Is this with Mirrorlink ?
 
asxichap
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd View Post
Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd View Post
Is this with Mirrorlink ?
Not that I'm aware. Just got power going to the cradle and it automatically turns the car mode and bluetooth on. My car always has bluetooth enabled so connects instantly.
 
pedderd
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hertford
That's not quite what I was talking about. It's more like the picture below on my head unit when connected by USB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	htc-one-car-dock-1_0.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	2745889  
 
mcox1124
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 108
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
It's not in app drawer (at least for the AT&T variant), but it's part of the OS. It's triggered when you have a USB connector with a car mode pin. The HTC Car Dock and iBolt support this. Probably others as well.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more