Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Car Mode?

OP akhobbes

1st April 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
The M7 had an app for Car Mode after an update. I can't figure it out for the life of me for the M8!!! I've read on some other sites that Car Mode is present on the M8, but where?

Anybody figure this out? I have the ATT version.
1st April 2014, 09:42 PM   |  #2  
jaythenut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,615
 
5,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhobbes

The M7 had an app for Car Mode after an update. I can't figure it out for the life of me for the M8!!! I've read on some other sites that Car Mode is present on the M8, but where?

Anybody figure this out? I have the ATT version.

on mine its in app draw under car
i have uk m8
14th May 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Hertford
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaythenut

on mine its in app draw under car
i have uk m8

Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.
15th May 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd

Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.

I've got a UK M8 and the D190 car cradle. As soon as I place my phone in the cradle, it automatically connects to my car, without issues. No audio problems whatsoever.
15th May 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Hertford
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by asxichap

I've got a UK M8 and the D190 car cradle. As soon as I place my phone in the cradle, it automatically connects to my car, without issues. No audio problems whatsoever.

Is this with Mirrorlink ?
15th May 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd

Mine's UK too - Car Mode automatically starts when connected to my car head unit (Alpine ics-X8). But no audio !!

Can anyone confirm if their audio works ?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedderd

Is this with Mirrorlink ?

Not that I'm aware. Just got power going to the cradle and it automatically turns the car mode and bluetooth on. My car always has bluetooth enabled so connects instantly.
15th May 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Hertford
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
That's not quite what I was talking about. It's more like the picture below on my head unit when connected by USB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	htc-one-car-dock-1_0.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	2745889  
17th May 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 17
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
It's not in app drawer (at least for the AT&T variant), but it's part of the OS. It's triggered when you have a USB connector with a car mode pin. The HTC Car Dock and iBolt support this. Probably others as well.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes