Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Will this put my phone back to normal?

OP Lumosx

17th May 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I have a Sprint GS3, I rooted my phone to get the camera shutter to silence, but then did the update to 4.3. Since then, it's run fine, but there are certain things that will pop up strange messages and other small things that make me want to start over and get it all working correctly again. Now I'm getting notifications for 4.4, but I don't want to mess things up worse.

What I want to do is get my phone back to what it was out of the box, then do the updates and wait for a 4.4 root. I don't care about the number still being there since I plan on rooting again eventually. AndroidCentral has a back to stock thread, but it specifically says not to do it if you've done the 4.3 update. That led me to this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565972 ( [FULL RESTORE][TAR] Stock MK3 Odin FLASHABLE [4.3] )

Is this what I'm looking for?

Thanks for any help.
17th May 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #2  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,734
 
9,057 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Yes, that will restore you to 100% stock including stock recovery


Make sure to triple check that your bootloader version ends with MK3 though

Run this command in a shell/terminal emulator on your device

Code:
getprop ro.bootloader
And make sure the string it returns ends with MK3
The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2014, 09:01 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus

Yes, that will restore you to 100% stock including stock recovery


Make sure to triple check that your bootloader version ends with MK3 though

Run this command in a shell/terminal emulator on your device

Code:
getprop ro.bootloader
And make sure the string it returns ends with MK3

It did! Trying it now, thanks!
17th May 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
It worked, and for some magical reason the camera is still silent. Thank you!

It's up to 4.3 now, it did that on its own, but I'm not getting the 4.4 notification. Will that come eventually or will I have to download it another way? It's not a big deal either way, I'm happy as it is.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes