Post Reply

[Q] LG G2 brick after change build.prop

15th May 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I rooted the phone, everything was going good. I was playing with Exposed and I wanted to remove soft keys. I found a post to edit build.prop and I did not back up build.prop before i tried to edit it and all went all from there.

Now When i turn it on i get it booted up but it says unfortunately androidsystem.ui has stopped and wont go any farther,

I am running 4.4.2 stock rom, After this I did a factory reset hoping this to fix the problem...This did not fix it lol.

I am afraid I can not ADB it now as I do not have developer options and USB debugging....

Anyway to edit Build.prop from the computer?

if not how do i fix this?

Thank you!
15th May 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,084
 
6,939 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

I rooted the phone, everything was going good. I was playing with Exposed and I wanted to remove soft keys. I found a post to edit build.prop and I did not back up build.prop before i tried to edit it and all went all from there.

Now When i turn it on i get it booted up but it says unfortunately androidsystem.ui has stopped and wont go any farther,

I am running 4.4.2 stock rom, After this I did a factory reset hoping this to fix the problem...This did not fix it lol.

I am afraid I can not ADB it now as I do not have developer options and USB debugging....

Anyway to edit Build.prop from the computer?

if not how do i fix this?

Thank you!

First off, brick means it's as functional as a fired clay brick.

Second. ADB from recovery. If you don't have a custom recovery, factory reset.
15th May 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #3  
detonation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 106
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaytsus

First off, brick means it's as functional as a fired clay brick.

Second. ADB from recovery. If you don't have a custom recovery, factory reset.

I don't think a factory reset would help since it only wipes data and cache. He said he already tried one without success.


If you have a custom recovery installed, you have a couple of options. If adb is working, you can pull/push a fixed build.prop. Or you could find a stock build.prop and create a flashable zip for it.

If you don't have a custom recovery, as far as I know you're pretty much stuck having to flash a factory image, which means you'll lose all your data because your internal storage will be wiped.
15th May 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by detonation

I don't think a factory reset would help since it only wipes data and cache. He said he already tried one without success.


If you have a custom recovery installed, you have a couple of options. If adb is working, you can pull/push a fixed build.prop. Or you could find a stock build.prop and create a flashable zip for it.

If you don't have a custom recovery, as far as I know you're pretty much stuck having to flash a factory image, which means you'll lose all your data because your internal storage will be wiped.



I do not have a custom recovery as I rooted 4.4.2 and as far as I know you can not have recovery with 4.4.2 root unless you downgrade to 4.2 first, root then update, Correct?

I was wondering, Can i install custom recovery now?

Keep in mind this is my second LG G2, The first one I COMPLETELY bricked it and it wont power on, no LG image, No charge, no download mode nothing. I do not want that again as it is a paper weight now lol.
15th May 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Would this be the process I would go with?

Thanks to everyone for the help....I hope to have my phone back up and running soon!
15th May 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
detonation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 106
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

I do not have a custom recovery as I rooted 4.4.2 and as far as I know you can not have recovery with 4.4.2 root unless you downgrade to 4.2 first, root then update, Correct?

I was wondering, Can i install custom recovery now?

Keep in mind this is my second LG G2, The first one I COMPLETELY bricked it and it wont power on, no LG image, No charge, no download mode nothing. I do not want that again as it is a paper weight now lol.

I have the Verizon version so I can't speak for others, but you only need to downgrade to the 4.2 bootloader to install the recovery and then you can go back to the 4.4 bootloader. I used AutoRec which does it all for you automatically. But at this point I don't think you'll be able to flash a custom recovery, as you either need adb access or the ability to install an apk.

Here's the guide for flashing the factory images: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476
I suggest trying the TOT method first if your variant is supported
15th May 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thank you,

I believe I will trade to flash stock rom again and root from 4.4.

Wish me luck.
15th May 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
As i look into the TOT flash procedure I am wondering what Variant the D803 is....

I have a Telus LG G2 and I believe it is the D803....
16th May 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
It is fixed everyone. Thanks to everyone who helped.

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
18th May 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

It is fixed everyone. Thanks to everyone who helped.

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

I had this issue.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52733594

Now I'm in 4.4.2 again but with a custom recovery and backup. Ready to give it a whirl again.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank