Tracker Discounts Helps You Find Good Deals on Steam

If you’re a PC gamer, you’re undoubtedly well familiar with Steam. This … more

Sony Extends AOSP Project to the Xperia Z3

While most OEMs simply don’t care about the custom ROM community, others are doing an … more

How Open Source Can Help Your Project w/ Ethan Yonker – BABBQ2014

People have finally recovered from this years Big Android BBQ … more

Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more
Thread Closed

[Q] To Update to KitKat or not?

OP Mort3770

17th May 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Forgive me for asking a question that I'm sure that has been addressed her many times lately.

I woke up this morning to my GN3 on Verizon telling me it wants to do the KitKat update. It's stock right now, but my concern is that I'm still on the unlimited data and don't want to lose the ability to run FoxFi and get a hotspot without paying the extra $30 a month.

If I update to KitKat, will I be able to root and will I be able to continue getting the use of the hotspot feature without paying the additional fee?

Thanks.
17th May 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #2  
slowz3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Malmstrom AFB, MT
Thanks Meter: 100
 
2,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mort3770

Forgive me for asking a question that I'm sure that has been addressed her many times lately.

I woke up this morning to my GN3 on Verizon telling me it wants to do the KitKat update. It's stock right now, but my concern is that I'm still on the unlimited data and don't want to lose the ability to run FoxFi and get a hotspot without paying the extra $30 a month.

If I update to KitKat, will I be able to root and will I be able to continue getting the use of the hotspot feature without paying the additional fee?

Thanks.

as of now NC4 does not have a root method but NC2 does. So you could root your phone on 4.3 then install a prerooted NC2 and be good
17th May 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Foxfi website says that it works on the Galaxy Note 3 with Kit Kat.
17th May 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
For the love of God why would you?

KK first off isn't all that. But we have KK based ROMs already. Take the OTA and even if you can keep root, good luck on something as basic as having the light\torch in your notification drawer. Being able to go to all sorts of ROMs is freedom. Why give that up? And there is a thread about going to the NC4 modem even if you're on NC2 base so why not stay flexible??? ??? ???
The Following User Says Thank You to herrdrjonz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th May 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 314
 
3,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I wouldn't do it purely for the loss of external write permissions. Pee poor of Google and an utterly false excuse of "security". Google has a high Apple wannabe complex.
18th May 2014, 07:45 AM   |  #6  
micmars's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 10,126
 
5,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
There is a thread on the benefits of taking the leaked rom here, and for non-rooted OTA updated phones here. Thread closed
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank