Post Reply

[Q] Dropped phone now reboots

OP TJj33p3rz

13th April 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #1  
TJj33p3rz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 105
 
485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Yep the wife dropped her phone and now it will reboot every so often.To me seems the power button isn't very responsive. Anyone ever run into this problem?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
14th April 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #2  
garwynn's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-town
Thanks Meter: 7,592
 
4,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Moved to Q&A.
How often is it rebooting? Holding power would get a reboot every 5 seconds on the nose.
You may want to try removing any MicroSD cards and flashing the last nodata one click and see if that fixes.
14th April 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #3  
TJj33p3rz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 105
 
485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
3 or 4 times an hour

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
18th April 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
If the power button doesn't seem very responsive and sometimes pressing the power button once actually brings up the long press menu, it is most likely the power button. I've had three of these devices have faulty power buttons and they would reboot themselves. These phones are notorious for having faulty power buttons.
19th April 2014, 06:21 AM   |  #5  
Linux guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 183
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJj33p3rz

3 or 4 times an hour

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4

Oh yeah? I had a sidekick4g that used to reboot every 10 seconds. I figured out it was actually the button. Ripped that damn thing out. I installed nomoahr powah and that was that. Until the charging port broke. Now I have to charge the battery externally and open up the phone to make the connection with a twist tie. Its tedious and not worth it. Having said all that I think it might be a software thing. Try to wipe caches. Try factory reset if you need. If it is the button try taking an air compress and cleaning it out. Don't rip it out. Its not as straight forward as on a sidekick. It maybe (very maybe) possible to disable the key. I have never tried it...
21st April 2014, 11:52 PM   |  #6  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 28,140
 
15,436 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux guy

Oh yeah? I had a sidekick4g that used to reboot every 10 seconds. I figured out it was actually the button. Ripped that damn thing out. I installed nomoahr powah and that was that. Until the charging port broke. Now I have to charge the battery externally and open up the phone to make the connection with a twist tie. Its tedious and not worth it. Having said all that I think it might be a software thing. Try to wipe caches. Try factory reset if you need. If it is the button try taking an air compress and cleaning it out. Don't rip it out. Its not as straight forward as on a sidekick. It maybe (very maybe) possible to disable the key. I have never tried it...

You can disable everything but the power button long press... Which is usually what causes the problem anyway. This is the reason I upgraded to the S3.

23rd April 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #7  
TJj33p3rz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 105
 
485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I've took it apart cleaned it.Factory reset stock and custom ROMs tried 4 different ones still the same.Where would you recommended buying a power button from?I'm in the states Indiana.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
18th May 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #8  
TJj33p3rz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 105
 
485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Weird I ended up getting the wife the galaxy 3 and now that the g2 doesn't have service the phone works perfectly fine.My daughter has been playing games on it for the past 3 days and not one reboot.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes