Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

Rooted but can't edit system tab 3 7.0

OP reinaldistic

18th May 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbutt74

okay you have custom recovery ?
if not goto tab 3 7.0 area of the forum find and follow rooting and recovery
if you do search online right now for supersu update zip, download the latest version [chainfire's website]
get it on your tab reboot into recovery, install then wipe cache goto advanced then wipe dalvik cache and reboot
i' online right now best time to wrk on this

Yeah I'm on twrp and fully rooted with the latest universal root directly from chainfire

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app
18th May 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #12  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Prompt okay
Quote:
Originally Posted by reinaldistic

Yeah I'm on twrp and fully rooted with the latest universal root directly from chainfire

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app

okay, be more complete in the description of your current situation

if supersu is installed and groovy start it
in automatic responses set to grant/allow
search for total commander get it from home page or play

a side note ; when youre in terminal youre pretty much in linux
meaning case matters spaces matter foward and backward slash matter, underscore dash, syntax etc
18th May 2014, 10:31 PM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
I already use total commander I have had the su app and it works with most everything except writing to system. total comander cant save to system it asks to remount as rw it asks for root and is granted it but then it displays a toast message saying "remount error"

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app
18th May 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #14  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Tutorial hmm
Quote:
Originally Posted by reinaldistic

I already use total commander I have had the su app and it works with most everything except writing to system. total comander cant save to system it asks to remount as rw it asks for root and is granted it but then it displays a toast message saying "remount error"

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app

okay if you flashed root/supersu with twrp it might have gone wrong
take a moment to get philz touch cwm flashable zip and twrp recovery's flashable zip [not the odin ones]
i keep both on my tab for specific flashes calling for twrp or cm
now, if you haven't beefed up your rom with apps and stuff yet
reboot into recovery flash/install cwm then reboot recovery, do a factory reset, then reflash supersu
make a back either way
if you want twrp back then cool but let's stick with cwm for now
18th May 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
I started with cwm, I flashed twrp through cwm only after I discovered the problem...both recoveries haven't been able to help

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app
18th May 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #16  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Question what rom are you running
Quote:
Originally Posted by reinaldistic

I started with cwm, I flashed twrp through cwm only after I discovered the problem...both recoveries haven't been able to help

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app

it's annoying I know, cwm clean to install new rom might be the cure-all
did you do any .prop mods eith in default.prop or build.prop ?
did you download aromafm yet if not get it from dev-host [use cwm to flash it]
in /system/bin/.ext should be a file named .su it's permissions should also be 6754
also did you get busybox setup and allow root functions everywhere in total commander
i do know that system rw doesn't stick between sessions and it not irregular for tc to need another rw button click
after being closed and cleared from ram

does supersu crash on open?
Last edited by moonbutt74; 18th May 2014 at 11:02 PM.
18th May 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
I am in the process of downloading all of that

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app
18th May 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #18  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by reinaldistic

I am in the process of downloading all of that

Sent from my 831C using XDA Free mobile app

when you have aroma download move to safety like all your flashable stuff [extSdCard]
get cwm recovery up, flash aroma and let me know

dude make sure you use philz cwm
scroll to philz setting and select re-root supersu
Last edited by moonbutt74; 18th May 2014 at 11:51 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Tab 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank