Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,838 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Contacts app broken

Tip us?
 
miapuffia
Old
#1  
miapuffia's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Killingworth
Default Contacts app broken

My dad's Droid 2 has the contacts app completely broken. He is rooted, and we've uninstalled recently a lot of "authenticators" (Facebook Authenticator for example). Could that have anything to do with it? Anytime the app is utilized at all, it crashes immediately. Whether from the contacts app itself or from dialer, the app just freezes. Is there a way for me to download someone else's contacts app so I can replace it, out just fix it?

Thanks

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app
 
sd_shadow
Old
#2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1272
Posts: 3,415
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
Many motorola apps are interdependent, remove one brake another.
Which system version 4.5.629?
I could upload a copy of contacts, but I don't have any idea any idea which apps you need.
Don't delete stock apps rename or freeze with titanium backup
I suggest reflashing firmware, I will post link to files if you post current system version.

Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
miapuffia
Old
#3  
miapuffia's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Killingworth
He has a Droid 2 global system version 4.5.629.A956 Android version 2.3.4. Is that everything you needed to know? He's thinking of just reflashing everything but I'd like to get things working.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using XDA Free mobile app
 
sd_shadow
Old
#4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1272
Posts: 3,415
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
try D2G_629_SBF-and-RootCD_2013.iso
it will reflash original 629 firmware
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
miapuffia
Old
#5  
miapuffia's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Killingworth
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
try D2G_629_SBF-and-RootCD_2013.iso
it will reflash original 629 firmware
What exactly do I do with this? It this a live disc to an OS? I also don't know how to flash anything or what that even means.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using XDA Free mobile app
 
sd_shadow
Old
#6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1272
Posts: 3,415
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
It will reinstall original software, just follow instructions

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more