LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Contacts app broken

OP miapuffia

17th April 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #1  
miapuffia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Killingworth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
My dad's Droid 2 has the contacts app completely broken. He is rooted, and we've uninstalled recently a lot of "authenticators" (Facebook Authenticator for example). Could that have anything to do with it? Anytime the app is utilized at all, it crashes immediately. Whether from the contacts app itself or from dialer, the app just freezes. Is there a way for me to download someone else's contacts app so I can replace it, out just fix it?

Thanks

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app
20th April 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,876
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Many motorola apps are interdependent, remove one brake another.
Which system version 4.5.629?
I could upload a copy of contacts, but I don't have any idea any idea which apps you need.
Don't delete stock apps rename or freeze with titanium backup
I suggest reflashing firmware, I will post link to files if you post current system version.

Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
30th April 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #3  
miapuffia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Killingworth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
He has a Droid 2 global system version 4.5.629.A956 Android version 2.3.4. Is that everything you needed to know? He's thinking of just reflashing everything but I'd like to get things working.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using XDA Free mobile app
30th April 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,876
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
try D2G_629_SBF-and-RootCD_2013.iso
it will reflash original 629 firmware
19th May 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #5  
miapuffia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Killingworth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

try D2G_629_SBF-and-RootCD_2013.iso
it will reflash original 629 firmware

What exactly do I do with this? It this a live disc to an OS? I also don't know how to flash anything or what that even means.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using XDA Free mobile app
19th May 2014, 07:27 AM   |  #6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,876
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
It will reinstall original software, just follow instructions

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes