Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

boorloader woes jb4.2.1

OP kiwijunglist

18th May 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hi

Having problems flashing from stock TF300T JB4.2.1

I started by downloading the asus bootloader unlocker.
Im not sure if the bootloader unlocker wored properly or not.

Then I reboot tablet using Vol DN + PWR

I boot into a bootloader and it says starting fastboot usb downloading protocol
I have 3x icon choices
[RCk] ... [Android] ... [WipeData]
There is no USB mode.

According to the guides I have to select usb mode.
What has gone wrong?

Thanks
Mike
18th May 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
in 4.2.1 bootloader menu usb mode (fastboot access) is enablet by default, when you are in this menu, just use command fastboot devices and check if device is visible.
19th May 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #3  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwijunglist

Hi

Having problems flashing from stock TF300T JB4.2.1

I started by downloading the asus bootloader unlocker.
Im not sure if the bootloader unlocker wored properly or not.

Then I reboot tablet using Vol DN + PWR

I boot into a bootloader and it says starting fastboot usb downloading protocol
I have 3x icon choices
[RCk] ... [Android] ... [WipeData]
There is no USB mode.

According to the guides I have to select usb mode.
What has gone wrong?

Thanks
Mike

Make sure the guide and ROM you are installing is for your bootloader and not the previous version.
19th May 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by misiekantos253

in 4.2.1 bootloader menu usb mode (fastboot access) is enablet by default, when you are in this menu, just use command fastboot devices and check if device is visible.

Code:
C:\adk\platform-tools>fastboot devices
015d2578364c200f        fastboot
I tried to unsucessfully flash twrp for 4.2 for TF300

Code:
C:\adk\platform-tools>fastboot -i 0x0B05 flash recovery twrp.blob
< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (8078 KB)...
OKAY [  2.890s]
writing 'recovery'...
FAILED (remote: (InvalidState))
finished. total time: 5.550s
Last edited by kiwijunglist; 19th May 2014 at 01:13 PM.
19th May 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #5  
pastorbob62's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palmyra
Thanks Meter: 75
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwijunglist

Code:
C:\adk\platform-tools>fastboot devices
015d2578364c200f        fastboot
I tried to unsucessfully flash twrp for 4.2 for TF300

Code:
C:\adk\platform-tools>fastboot -i 0x0B05 flash recovery twrp.blob
< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (8078 KB)...
OKAY [  2.890s]
writing 'recovery'...
FAILED (remote: (InvalidState))
finished. total time: 5.550s

I got this error early on on a different PC than I use now. It turned out to be the USB port on my PC that I was using. I moved from a front port to one on the motherboard in the back and it flashed successfully. I know others have had cables that caused the error so try a different cable as well.
19th May 2014, 01:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastorbob62

I got this error early on on a different PC than I use now. It turned out to be the USB port on my PC that I was using. I moved from a front port to one on the motherboard in the back and it flashed successfully. I know others have had cables that caused the error so try a different cable as well.

Error related to the bootloader not being unlocked, i have gotten a bit further now.
I now can run TWRP recovery, so I'm doing a full backup to internal storage.
I guess after that I should copy that onto my PC.

What is the next step after that, is it safe to now start flashing roms.
If I flash a 4.3 or 4.4 rom, can I go back to 4.2?
Last edited by kiwijunglist; 19th May 2014 at 01:51 PM.
19th May 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #7  
pastorbob62's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palmyra
Thanks Meter: 75
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwijunglist

Error related to the bootloader not being unlocked, i have gotten a bit further now.
I now can run TWRP recovery, so I'm doing a full backup to internal storage.
I guess after that I should copy that onto my PC.

What is the next step after that, is it safe to now start flashing roms.
If I flash a 4.3 or 4.4 rom, can I go back to 4.2?

Glad you solved the problem.

Making a TWRP backup is good but I suggest making a Flatline - NVFlash backup to be sure you have a way back if you brick your tablet. It is time consuming but well worth the effort. Here is a link to that procedure - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2455922.

Several considerations before you flash a custom ROM. Be sure you have the correct bootloader and recovery version for the ROM you are flashing. As far as returning to 4.2 after moving to 4.4 I believe there are a couple of ways but haven't done that myself.

All of the threads with custom ROM's have very clear prerequisites and steps to follow for each particular scenario. Also, there are hundreds of posts in the Q&A and Development forums with excellent advice and cautions. DO YOUR RESEARCH! I know from experience that rushing into it can be a disaster and without having a thorough understanding of the steps involved and the potential pitfalls, you will wind up with a bricked device. I bricked a smart phone about a year ago just because I didn't take the time to do the research. It's a hard lesson to learn that way so take the time to research, research, research, especially if you are going to try different versions and different ROM's. In the end it will be time well spent.

Good luck my friend!
Last edited by pastorbob62; 19th May 2014 at 02:21 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF300T Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank