LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

What's the Minimum I need to accept OTA Firmware update?

OP mswlogo

7th May 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 244
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
I'm currently S-OFF, Stock Firmware (as shipped, except for hboot, recovery).

And I'm running BadBoys 1.1

I don't want to flash "Modified Firmware" (this time).

What do I need to do let the OTA update come in normally?

I assume I need to flash Stockish ROM (with or without root).

Do I need to relock?

I know there is unmodified firmware as well. I might go that route too.

But I want the most "Official" way to let the firmware be updated. I want to hold off on Harman Firmware just yet.

If a Stock RUU (that included OTA firmware) existed, I'd definitely just use that. I know about the Harman RUU.
7th May 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #2  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,087
 
8,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
I've never personally taken an OTA.
I think all you need is a stock rom and stock recovery.
Not sure if you need to re-lock being s-off.
Btw the unmodified firmware is pulled from the OTA zip.
Last edited by BD619; 7th May 2014 at 11:45 PM.
8th May 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 244
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

I've never personally taken an OTA.
I think all you need is a stock rom and stock recovery.
Not sure if you need to re-lock being s-off.
Btw the unmodified firmware is pulled from the OTA zip.

Yeah, I know. I ended up doing just that. Being crazy anal for nothing.
19th May 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #4  
Jerz201's Avatar
Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 4
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I learned my lesson on my old EVO 4G about accepting OTA's.
I lost root for a while until a new method opened up.
Patience is everything.
19th May 2014, 10:37 AM   |  #5  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,123
 
3,892 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Since you're S-off you can just install the stock Android recovery, then accept the OTA. You'll retain S-off but lose root. You can then root again by installing a custom recovery and flashing the SU binary in recovery. Honestly, though, Captain Throwback's firmware will get you where you want to be without the hassle of doing everything I listed above.

Sent from my HTC device
19th May 2014, 01:07 PM   |  #6  
AarSyl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 778
 
1,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Yes, and no...for Sense enhancements, you get to check them out first without waiting for a stock rooted rom or a custom rom running the same base. Matter of preference, I guess.
19th May 2014, 03:29 PM   |  #7  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,123
 
3,892 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AarSyl

Yes, and no...for Sense enhancements, you get to check them out first without waiting for a stock rooted rom or a custom rom running the same base. Matter of preference, I guess.

Right. I personally prefer to wait for a stock rooted ROM based off the latest update, and separately install the corresponding firmware package.

Sent from my HTC device
19th May 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #8  
AarSyl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 778
 
1,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Right. I personally prefer to wait for a stock rooted ROM based off the latest update, and separately install the corresponding firmware package.

Sent from my HTC device

Meh...to each his own. It depends on what the update contains for me. For example, I had no interest in waiting for a stock rooted Sense 5.0 rom when it was finally released for the LTE.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes