FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Can I root on a p600 kk?

467 posts
Thanks Meter: 63
 
By Honeybadger, Senior Member on 18th May 2014, 09:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Been trying to figure out but mixed messages.

I know if I upgrade my at&t n3 phone to kk, I am screwed. So I rooted and froze the at&t upgrade till they fix things. Kk downloaded to my 2014 tablet but I keep saying no to the upgrade.

If I let it upgrade will it lock the bootloader or prevent later rooting?

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
 
 
18th May 2014, 10:09 PM |#2  
scarmona's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
I rooted my SM-P600 after upgrading to KK through kies, I used the custom recovery flash method without any problems.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
19th May 2014, 02:29 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
http://www.teamandroid.com/2014/04/1...cial-firmware/

I update mine to kitkat, followed the above, and gained root. It worked even though I was updated to UBUCND2 (the us edition, not UBUCND1 mentioned in the article).


Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th May 2014, 07:59 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnn1

http://www.teamandroid.com/2014/04/1...cial-firmware/

I update mine to kitkat, followed the above, and gained root. It worked even though I was updated to UBUCND2 (the us edition, not UBUCND1 mentioned in the article).


Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

FYI, you will trip the knox status tho. you won't be able to reset it
Last edited by xuanphucn; 19th May 2014 at 08:02 AM.
19th May 2014, 08:31 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xuanphucn

FYI, you will trip the knox status tho. you won't be able to reset it

yeah, I already tripped knox when I rooted in jellybean, so I didn't mind ... but if keeping Knox untainted is important to you, I guess there must be other ways ...

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th May 2014, 12:12 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
So if I don't upgrade, I can root and get kk without tripping Knox?

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
19th May 2014, 04:26 PM |#7  
dkb218's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn/Bronx, NY
Thanks Meter: 286
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honeybadger

So if I don't upgrade, I can root and get kk without tripping Knox?

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

If you root, you will trip Knox no matter how it's done. No getting around it.

[ How do you plan on getting KK without upgrading? ]

Now I'm confused.

Wait... Is you N10 LTE or WIfi Only? If you accept the OTA on the N10, YOU WILL NOT TRIP KNOX. If you ROOT YOU WILL TRIP KNOX.
You can have the upgrade to KK without rooting. Just Keis or OTA.
Last edited by dkb218; 19th May 2014 at 04:30 PM.
19th May 2014, 04:30 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
I was meaning rooting then a 3rd party ROM or upgrading Ota, root.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
19th May 2014, 04:41 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honeybadger

So if I don't upgrade, I can root and get kk without tripping Knox?

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

no matter what version you are running. If you root the wifi version, you will trip the knox status no matter what
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes