Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Root for ND8 Not Working

OP appzattak

18th May 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #1  
appzattak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal - I.E.
Thanks Meter: 6
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
I just got a replacement phone this morning and it came with the KK update already installed. I found this link in another thread, http://www.nasirtech.blogspot.in/201...442-stock.html

I tried this a couple of times and each time it says it worked but SU will not work at all. I also tried to flash (through ODIN) Philz Rec and it will not flash. I do not get any errors, it is just not working as expected. I also tried a different version of ODIN and still nothing.

What is the best way to get root on this bad boy? Funny in Download mode it shows that binary and system status is "custom" and warranty bit is "1" which indicates I should have a custom recovery but I don't.
18th May 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #2  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 337
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Not enough info to say what problems u may be having, but this is the link that I used to flash custom recovery and root...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2741413

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
18th May 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #3  
appzattak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal - I.E.
Thanks Meter: 6
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Not sure what further info is needed? That link you provide is not for me. I already have that installed. I suppose I could use that method but was hoping to not have to reset the phone as I already set it up.
18th May 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #4  
micmars's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 10,895
 
6,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by appzattak

Not sure what further info is needed? That link you provide is not for me. I already have that installed. I suppose I could use that method but was hoping to not have to reset the phone as I already set it up.

Your binary status and custom versus official has little correlation with whether you actually have a functioning, rooted device.

You currently do not have root; and, you indicate that you have installed custom recovery? If so, have you tried flashing the latest SU from recovery?
18th May 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #5  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 337
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by appzattak


"...... which indicates I should have a custom recovery but I don't."


Sorry, from reading your post, I thought u were trying to flash md8 and root and that you were unsuccessful in getting a custom recovery on the phone
Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
19th May 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 27
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
You should update supersu from market and open it and convert it to system app then restart.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #7  
roirraW "edor" ehT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus, OH
Thanks Meter: 1,811
 
3,429 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Or just flash the very latest SuperSU.zip (v1.97 from what I read) then it won't be updated or moved.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
nd8, not working, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes