Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,657 Members 43,517 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help with rooting NC1

Tip us?
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Help with rooting NC1

ok i know there's a lot of threads about this in the q&a but i figured i would just try. i have a s3 and its on the update. when i got the phone it was rooted running alliance rom. i did the update not thinking and it unrooted it. but when i turn on the phone it comes up the samsung screen with a unlocked symbol at the bottom. when i do root checker it says its not rooted. i have tried all the methods. i tried downgrading but when i do that it fails in odin. i have tried saferoot and it fails and says my kernel is patched. I just need to know if there's no hope lol.
 
landshark68
Old
#2  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 547
Posts: 1,006
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
ok i know there's a lot of threads about this in the q&a but i figured i would just try. i have a s3 and its on the update. when i got the phone it was rooted running alliance rom. i did the update not thinking and it unrooted it. but when i turn on the phone it comes up the samsung screen with a unlocked symbol at the bottom. when i do root checker it says its not rooted. i have tried all the methods. i tried downgrading but when i do that it fails in odin. i have tried saferoot and it fails and says my kernel is patched. I just need to know if there's no hope lol.
There's no hope for NC1. You have to ODIN back to ML1 and use saferoot.

Sent from the Shark Tank using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Shouldn't we treat this world like the garden of Eden and avoid the apple at all costs?

Sometimes you go to the circus.......sometimes the circus comes to you
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark68 View Post
There's no hope for NC1. You have to ODIN back to ML1 and use saferoot.

Sent from the Shark Tank using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
ya i tried odining back and it fails everytime.
 
ThePagel
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 871
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
ya i tried odining back and it fails everytime.
Did you get the ml1 from the general section or samsung-updates website?
ADB Only (Windows)
ADB Only (Linux) <-- Plus instructions
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel View Post
Did you get the ml1 from the general section or samsung-updates website?
i got it from the general section.
 
ThePagel
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 871
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis
You could try the one from samsung-updates but I don't think it will wipe internal so that can lead to problems. Did you check the md5? Does odin say what happened?
ADB Only (Windows)
ADB Only (Linux) <-- Plus instructions
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel View Post
You could try the one from samsung-updates but I don't think it will wipe internal so that can lead to problems. Did you check the md5? Does odin say what happened?
i did and it was good and i forget i tried a few weeks ago. i know it just says failed lol. do you have a link to the file for the modem?
 
ThePagel
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 871
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
i did and it was good and i forget i tried a few weeks ago. i know it just says failed lol. do you have a link to the file for the modem?
I think I saw it on the front page of general or q&a yesterday so its probably still there or on page 2. Couldn't have ran off to far in a day.
ADB Only (Windows)
ADB Only (Linux) <-- Plus instructions
The Following User Says Thank You to ThePagel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
(Last edited by pitbullmommy45245; 17th May 2014 at 06:54 AM.)
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel View Post
I think I saw it on the front page of general or q&a yesterday so its probably still there or on page 2. Couldn't have ran off to far in a day.
k i found it. i did it and checked the md5 sum and i think it worked. its starting up now....lets give it a min lol.....its on the verizon screen lol.....it vibrated lol.....hmmmm.....lalalalala........waiting waiting waiting

It worked!!! Whoop!!!

I have root and now I'm just waiting on alliance Rom to download and then ill be set
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Which room would u reccomend?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes