FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q] Bell apps show up on my Rogers phone

178 posts
Thanks Meter: 30
 
By rezadue, Senior Member on 6th March 2014, 01:35 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I bought an S4 which was previously rooted. Last owner unrooted it and used triangle away to make sure all was as stock looking as possible.

Last week I did a factory reset on the phone as I was having issues with it. After the reset it shows all the stock apps and standard Rogers bloatware. BUT it now has a couple of Bell Bloatware apps as well!!!

I need to send the phone in for repair as I am getting "intermittent SIM card not detected, phone is restarting error". Should I be worried that Samsung will detect that the phone was at one time rooted?

What should I do?

Thanks
 
 
6th March 2014, 02:49 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 226
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezadue

Hi,

I bought an S4 which was previously rooted. Last owner unrooted it and used triangle away to make sure all was as stock looking as possible.

Last week I did a factory reset on the phone as I was having issues with it. After the reset it shows all the stock apps and standard Rogers bloatware. BUT it now has a couple of Bell Bloatware apps as well!!!

I need to send the phone in for repair as I am getting "intermittent SIM card not detected, phone is restarting error". Should I be worried that Samsung will detect that the phone was at one time rooted?

What should I do?

Thanks

When the last owner unrooted the phone, they likely used one of the odin files from here which are all Bell based for I337M (Canadian S4). There is a thread in here where this happened to another user and they returned the phone to stock Rogers instead of Bell, you will need to search for that thread. The bigger concern is Knox is probably tripped on the phone, when it boots up there will be some tiny text it the top left corner, yellow and red I believe, there is a thread about that here too.... If Knox is tripped (pretty sure it is) then all you can do is try to get it repaired by Samsung, I wouold be interested to find out if they do it or not.....
6th March 2014, 03:02 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Thanks for the reply.

I shut the phone down and then turned it back on, paying close attention to evenrything. There is no small text in any corner. What is odd id that the phone goes through its boot sequence, gets to the lockscreen, and then goes through the boot sequence again a second time.

And for clarification, I have all the Rogers bloat, but I have three Bell bloat apps too!

I will do a search again to see if I can find the threads you have mentioned.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage_Hero

When the last owner unrooted the phone, they likely used one of the odin files from here which are all Bell based for I337M (Canadian S4). There is a thread in here where this happened to another user and they returned the phone to stock Rogers instead of Bell, you will need to search for that thread. The bigger concern is Knox is probably tripped on the phone, when it boots up there will be some tiny text it the top left corner, yellow and red I believe, there is a thread about that here too.... If Knox is tripped (pretty sure it is) then all you can do is try to get it repaired by Samsung, I wouold be interested to find out if they do it or not.....

6th March 2014, 03:05 PM |#4  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezadue

Thanks for the reply.

I shut the phone down and then turned it back on, paying close attention to evenrything. There is no small text in any corner. What is odd id that the phone goes through its boot sequence, gets to the lockscreen, and then goes through the boot sequence again a second time.

And for clarification, I have all the Rogers bloat, but I have three Bell bloat apps too!

I will do a search again to see if I can find the threads you have mentioned.

You have to go into download mode to see the text.

Sent from Black<3's I337 running Foxhound ROM
6th March 2014, 03:06 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Put the phone in download mode and no small text.

Now that the phone is not rooted, can I put it in download mode, attach it to a PC and flash a stock Rogers 4.3 ROM via ODIN? Do I need root for this?
Last edited by rezadue; 6th March 2014 at 03:12 PM.
6th March 2014, 03:12 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Woodstock
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezadue

Oh, and one other question. Now that the phone is not rooted, can I put it in recovery mode, attach it to a PC and flash a stock Rogers 4.3 ROM via ODIN? Do I need root for this?

Not to ODIN it no. Root not required.
6th March 2014, 03:26 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Found the other thread, you have spoken of. It seems like that guy got bloatware from Bell INSTEAD of Rogers. I have blaotware from Rogers(ok
) AND Bell(Not ok).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2422497
20th May 2014, 07:34 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Almost same issue here on my N900W8. My phone is working fine and rooted, except I got the Rogers AND Bell apps too before rooting and flashing CWM (only way I knew of at the time to force boot following seandroid enforcing error). I data wiped, downloaded and flashed the labeled "Rogers" stock ROM from SamMobile, and first time I ever saw bloatware from two carriers on any phone.

I disabled the Bell apps thinking that was all, but instead of 4G, I get H+. LTE connects fine outdoors, but H+ seems slightly slower than the 4G I'm used to. Which makes me wonder if LTE speeds are impacted too, hope not. Anyway, it's a bother because I am rarely in an LTE zone.

Tomorrow, I will try unrooting with SuperSU (is this even important if I'm wiping & flashing?), data wiping with CWM, re-flashing same file from SamMobile and not flashing anything more, and trying emergency recovery with Kies. Anyone know if this will work or change anything in the end? Or is Kies 3 also affected by the Knox counter? CSC (OYA) is the same as the non-rooted up-to-date S4 in the house.

Thanks

OP, have you tried using someone else's SIM card? Just a thought.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes