Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,208 Members 38,541 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Set up Android SDK (ADB) for Windows 8 / 8.1 / [ADB][Bootloader][Fastboot]

Tip us?
 
bdorr1105
Old
(Last edited by bdorr1105; 21st May 2014 at 03:44 AM.)
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Post [GUIDE] Set up Android SDK (ADB) for Windows 8 / 8.1 / [ADB][Bootloader][Fastboot]

Android SDK - Powerful tool and easy to set up for use with your HTC One M8



Quote:
The Reason that you would want to use Android SDK is because its very easy, it's well updated and it just WORKS! There is much more use with HTC devices with adb then with Samsung when it comes to the daily things like splash screens, radio updates, firmware. You will be dealing a lot with the bootloader and fastboot flashing. So to help out, I will post a helpful guide to help you get started for use with the HTC One M8.




USB 3.0 Information if Needed








Part 1. Follow These Steps Below - (Preparation)

 


Quote:
1. Download Android SDK For Windows


2. Click the either the 32bit version or 64bit version


3. Create a folder in the C: and name it Android. See below

 


4. Place adt-bundle-windows in the Android Folder you just created. Use WinZip, WinRAR or 7-Zip to extract the contents inside the folder. See Below

 


5. Once extracted, Double click SDK Manager and instal all 4.4.2 and 4.3 items and under tools (SDK Tools and Platform Tools). See Picture Below

 


6. After all packages are installed and updated, download the latest HTC Sync Manager and install once download completes

7. Once Sync Manager completes installation process, go to control panel and uninstall HTC Sync Manager only, you will see HTC Driver in there as well (LEAVE IT THERE)

8. Important, make sure you enable developer options and turn on USB Debugging. Instructions Below if you are unsure how to do that

 


1. Go to Settings > About > Software information > More > Tap Build Number 5x
2. Once you get notification saying Developer options is unlocked go back to > settings
3. Click Developer options
4. Add check in the box USB Debugging



9. Plug phone into the computer and let it install all the drivers, you should see pop ups.


Quote:
The Computer and Phone are now prepped for you to start the whole ADB Process




Part 2. Verifying ADB is set up properly and Working


 


Quote:
1. Open Command Prompt and Change directories to your platform-tools folder. This is where all the adb files are located. See Below


In Command Prompt Type - Refer to Part 3 so you no longer need to Change Directory

Code:
cd c:\Android\sdk\platform-tools


2. In Command prompt type
Code:
adb devices


3. If your output shows your device attached like below, then you are good to go!!!







YOU ARE FINISHED!!! Below is a command to get into the bootloader if interested!! Good Luck






Part 3. Environment Variables - No need to Change Directory in Command Prompt Anymore (This is if you want to - Not Required)


 


Quote:
1. Press Win+R, then type sysdm.cpl



2. Click Advanced Tab



3. Click Environment Variables Button



4. Under System Variables, find Path, click to highlight it and then hit the edit button



5. Go to the end of the Variable Value and add the following exactly as you see it in the code box below

Code:
;C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools


6. Click OK to accept the changes you just added

7. Open Command Prompt again to verify by pressing Win+R and type cmd and hit enter



8. Once Command Prompt is open -> Simply type adb devices with your device connected with USB Debugging already enabled



9. If you did everything correctly, there is no need to change paths anymore





Getting into the Bootloader

In Command Prompt Type:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader

Thanks To:
Ashraf - Images used for Environment Variables - Not all were his since the guide was modified
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to bdorr1105 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bdorr1105
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Reserved if needed

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
VolcanicSkunk
Old
#3  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 947
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ohio
Thanks for the guide!

Can you add instructions for how to add adb to the environment variables so it can be accessed without having to cd to the platform-tools folder?

Sent from my HTC One M8
 
bdorr1105
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolcanicSkunk View Post
Thanks for the guide!

Can you add instructions for how to add adb to the environment variables so it can be accessed without having to cd to the platform-tools folder?

Sent from my HTC One M8
I will look into it if I have some time, you can post it in here if you like if you think others will appreciate it. Thanks

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
bdorr1105
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Post OP Updated

Updated OP

1. Added Environment Variables to no longer have to Change Directory
2. Cleaned up OP
3. Added Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to bdorr1105 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theimmortalone
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 173
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdorr1105 View Post
Updated OP

1. Added Environment Variables to no longer have to Change Directory
2. Cleaned up OP
3. Added Thanks
Will this work for Windows 7 as well? I have Windows 7, and every time I try to plug my phone in to start the unlocking process, and I click on "Get Token ID"



It just sits at that screen and does nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
New Phone: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 Titanium - ROOTED[Easiet ROOT I've ever done!!!]
Rom: Stock Rom[Until I find one I like]
Android: 4.2.2
Retired Phones:
MY MYTOUCH 4G IS HISTORY. Touchscreen is all F***ED UP!
Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G(HTC Glacier)
ROM: COREDROID MYTOUCH 4G v1.3
Previous Phones:
Sprint - HTC Evo 4G
T-Mobile - MyTouch 3G(Sold); MyTouch 3G w/ 3.5 jack(Sold); HTC G1(Sold); HTC G2(Sold); MyTouch Slide(Non HTC)[Still have]; Samsung Galaxy S2(Sold);
 
bdorr1105
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimmortalone View Post
Will this work for Windows 7 as well? I have Windows 7, and every time I try to plug my phone in to start the unlocking process, and I click on "Get Token ID"



It just sits at that screen and does nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
It should work the same for windows 7, but keep in mind the guide was created on Windows 8....I do not know the path of your adb folder, also, the phone will prompt you to allow the computer to access it, YOU HAVE TO ALLOW IT, or it will never work!!!

What command did you type? I dont see anything except HTC' ????
 
theimmortalone
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 173
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdorr1105 View Post
It should work the same for windows 7, but keep in mind the guide was created on Windows 8....I do not know the path of your adb folder, also, the phone will prompt you to allow the computer to access it, YOU HAVE TO ALLOW IT, or it will never work!!!

What command did you type? I dont see anything except HTC' ????
Okay, well that is my problem then, every time I plug my phone in, and it never asks me to allow it or not. How can I fix that issue? IT does it on my XP, but that is slower then hell so I prefer not to use it.

And as far has the "HTC" part, it doesn't go past that folder. I thought the all-in-one root kit was supposed to do it automatically?
New Phone: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 Titanium - ROOTED[Easiet ROOT I've ever done!!!]
Rom: Stock Rom[Until I find one I like]
Android: 4.2.2
Retired Phones:
MY MYTOUCH 4G IS HISTORY. Touchscreen is all F***ED UP!
Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G(HTC Glacier)
ROM: COREDROID MYTOUCH 4G v1.3
Previous Phones:
Sprint - HTC Evo 4G
T-Mobile - MyTouch 3G(Sold); MyTouch 3G w/ 3.5 jack(Sold); HTC G1(Sold); HTC G2(Sold); MyTouch Slide(Non HTC)[Still have]; Samsung Galaxy S2(Sold);
 
bdorr1105
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 1230
Posts: 1,953
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimmortalone View Post
Okay, well that is my problem then, every time I plug my phone in, and it never asks me to allow it or not. How can I fix that issue? IT does it on my XP, but that is slower then hell so I prefer not to use it.

And as far has the "HTC" part, it doesn't go past that folder. I thought the all-in-one root kit was supposed to do it automatically?
You may have already accepted it, lets resolve the steps in order to make sure thats the problem, if you follow the guide, you create a Android folder and then extract the bundle inside of that

the path should be C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools

I want to you to open Command Prompt and do the following:

1. Win+R or Start>Run>cmd Hit enter
2. cd c:\Android\sdk\platform-tools
3. type adb devices > Look for prompt on phone and allow it

If it shows your device connected you are good to go
 
theimmortalone
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 173
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdorr1105 View Post
It should work the same for windows 7, but keep in mind the guide was created on Windows 8....I do not know the path of your adb folder, also, the phone will prompt you to allow the computer to access it, YOU HAVE TO ALLOW IT, or it will never work!!!

What command did you type? I dont see anything except HTC' ????
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdorr1105 View Post
You may have already accepted it, lets resolve the steps in order to make sure thats the problem, if you follow the guide, you create a Android folder and then extract the bundle inside of that

the path should be C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools

I want to you to open Command Prompt and do the following:

1. Win+R or Start>Run>cmd Hit enter
2. cd c:\Android\sdk\platform-tools
3. type adb devices > Look for prompt on phone and allow it

If it shows your device connected you are good to go
I honestly do not remember that pop up coming up on my phone. So I'm not sure what's up with that. But I will do what you said above, and report back.
New Phone: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 Titanium - ROOTED[Easiet ROOT I've ever done!!!]
Rom: Stock Rom[Until I find one I like]
Android: 4.2.2
Retired Phones:
MY MYTOUCH 4G IS HISTORY. Touchscreen is all F***ED UP!
Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G(HTC Glacier)
ROM: COREDROID MYTOUCH 4G v1.3
Previous Phones:
Sprint - HTC Evo 4G
T-Mobile - MyTouch 3G(Sold); MyTouch 3G w/ 3.5 jack(Sold); HTC G1(Sold); HTC G2(Sold); MyTouch Slide(Non HTC)[Still have]; Samsung Galaxy S2(Sold);

The Following User Says Thank You to theimmortalone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
adb, android sdk, bootloader, htc, htc one m8
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes