FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

Just rooted my 4.3, is it ok to update my phone?

75 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By Schism169, Member on 8th May 2014, 07:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
My old s3 broke, just got my new s3 today. I just rooted my device, and was wondering if it was ok to update my phone. An annoying prompt keeps asking me to update. Dont know if I'm supposed to disable it or update my phone.
 
 
8th May 2014, 08:32 PM |#2  
rsswga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ga.
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
leave it alone..update is useless..unroots your phone..stay away

sent from a DIS-GRUNTLED GS3
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rsswga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 10:12 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Can you or anyone tell me how I can disable it? it keeps popping up on me. its annoying!
8th May 2014, 10:35 PM |#4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,082
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism169

Can you or anyone tell me how I can disable it? it keeps popping up on me. its annoying!

Use an app like Titanium Backup, switch to "System" apps via the filter, then press the specific app. Or use a file explorer, grant it root access, then navigate to /System and rename the file to "sdm 1.0.bak" or delete it.
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 11:02 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thank you guys, Got it frozen
The Following User Says Thank You to Schism169 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th May 2014, 04:33 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is there a way to do it without a rooted phone? Titantium backup apparently needs root. This stupid update is so annoying. I plan to root my phone in the future so I dont want the update but I dont have time to figure out how to root it right now.
14th May 2014, 07:34 PM |#7  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,082
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smalco44

Is there a way to do it without a rooted phone? Titantium backup apparently needs root. This stupid update is so annoying. I plan to root my phone in the future so I dont want the update but I dont have time to figure out how to root it right now.

No and if there were a way to do this non-rooted, that would be a very questionable security flaw.


Edit: Use Saferoot to gain root access on VRUCML1, when you find time. Links and info in our TW 4.3 Sticky.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
20th May 2014, 03:28 PM |#8  
gospodinwizard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Am I correct in assuming simply freezing SDM will stop OTA's? I thought there was one other thing that had to be frozen.
20th May 2014, 03:46 PM |#9  
Member
Flag Yonkers, NY
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospodinwizard

Am I correct in assuming simply freezing SDM will stop OTA's? I thought there was one other thing that had to be frozen.

Freezing SDM was all I needed to do on my S3 to stop the update nags. Others have mentioned another file "FWUpdate", but I could not find it on my S3. I would just try freezing SDM 1.0 and see if that does it, if not, then look for the other file.
The Following User Says Thank You to joekiv For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes