Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,165 Members 39,022 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Just rooted my 4.3, is it ok to update my phone?

Tip us?
 
Schism169
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 69
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Just rooted my 4.3, is it ok to update my phone?

My old s3 broke, just got my new s3 today. I just rooted my device, and was wondering if it was ok to update my phone. An annoying prompt keeps asking me to update. Dont know if I'm supposed to disable it or update my phone.
 
rsswga
Old
#2  
rsswga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 308
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ga.
leave it alone..update is useless..unroots your phone..stay away

sent from a DIS-GRUNTLED GS3
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rsswga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Schism169
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 69
Join Date: Sep 2012
Can you or anyone tell me how I can disable it? it keeps popping up on me. its annoying!
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,425
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism169 View Post
Can you or anyone tell me how I can disable it? it keeps popping up on me. its annoying!
Use an app like Titanium Backup, switch to "System" apps via the filter, then press the specific app. Or use a file explorer, grant it root access, then navigate to /System and rename the file to "sdm 1.0.bak" or delete it.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Schism169
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 69
Join Date: Sep 2012
Thank you guys, Got it frozen
The Following User Says Thank You to Schism169 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
smalco44
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Is there a way to do it without a rooted phone? Titantium backup apparently needs root. This stupid update is so annoying. I plan to root my phone in the future so I dont want the update but I dont have time to figure out how to root it right now.
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#7  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,425
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by smalco44 View Post
Is there a way to do it without a rooted phone? Titantium backup apparently needs root. This stupid update is so annoying. I plan to root my phone in the future so I dont want the update but I dont have time to figure out how to root it right now.
No and if there were a way to do this non-rooted, that would be a very questionable security flaw.


Edit: Use Saferoot to gain root access on VRUCML1, when you find time. Links and info in our TW 4.3 Sticky.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
 
gospodinwizard
Old
#8  
gospodinwizard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 201
Join Date: Jul 2010
Am I correct in assuming simply freezing SDM will stop OTA's? I thought there was one other thing that had to be frozen.
 
joekiv
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 66
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yonkers, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospodinwizard View Post
Am I correct in assuming simply freezing SDM will stop OTA's? I thought there was one other thing that had to be frozen.
Freezing SDM was all I needed to do on my S3 to stop the update nags. Others have mentioned another file "FWUpdate", but I could not find it on my S3. I would just try freezing SDM 1.0 and see if that does it, if not, then look for the other file.

The Following User Says Thank You to joekiv For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes