Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,291 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't Connect to WiFi Network That's Not Broadcasting SSID

Tip us?
 
Apota
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default [Q] Can't Connect to WiFi Network That's Not Broadcasting SSID

I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy S5 and I have a Western Digital My Net N750 Router. I have SSID Broadcast Disabled and the S5 won't connect. If I start broadcasting the SSID it has no problems connecting.

I have over 20 other devices that have no problems connecting with the SSID disabled, so I don't understand why the S5 can't do it. Even my 3 year old Samsung Galaxy Nexus has no problems connecting with SSID disabled.

I called Verizon and they said they haven't heard of this problem before and that the phone is defective and to return it for a replacement but I have a feeling I'll have the same problem with the replacement phone. I've searched Google trying to find people with similar problems but I can't find any other posts. Can you please help me! Thanks so much.
- Samsung Galaxy S5
- iPad 4
- Samsung Galaxy Nexus
- Original Droid A855 (Rooted)
- Toshiba Thrive Tablet (Custom ROM)
- Logitech Revue with GoogleTV
 
kprice8
Old
#2  
kprice8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 366
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lansing MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apota View Post
I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy S5 and I have a Western Digital My Net N750 Router. I have SSID Broadcast Disabled and the S5 won't connect. If I start broadcasting the SSID it has no problems connecting.

I have over 20 other devices that have no problems connecting with the SSID disabled, so I don't understand why the S5 can't do it. Even my 3 year old Samsung Galaxy Nexus has no problems connecting with SSID disabled.

I called Verizon and they said they haven't heard of this problem before and that the phone is defective and to return it for a replacement but I have a feeling I'll have the same problem with the replacement phone. I've searched Google trying to find people with similar problems but I can't find any other posts. Can you please help me! Thanks so much.
Perhaps so, but if you don't you won't know for sure. You can try to get it working, but if you exchange and it still continues to not work, then Verizon has it on the books that you had a defective device, and they can start working on fixing that silly problem.


If I helped you, hit thanks if you like.

-Kevin
 
Apota
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kprice8 View Post
Perhaps so, but if you don't you won't know for sure. You can try to get it working, but if you exchange and it still continues to not work, then Verizon has it on the books that you had a defective device, and they can start working on fixing that silly problem.
I was hoping someone with the same phone can test it to see if they have the same issues. I'm going to do a factory reset right now to see what happens for troubleshooting purposes. That's also what Verizon recommended that I do. Then I'm going to Verizon to exchange it. If someone else with the same phone can test it to see if it works on your phone or not I would greatly appreciate it!! Thanks so much!
- Samsung Galaxy S5
- iPad 4
- Samsung Galaxy Nexus
- Original Droid A855 (Rooted)
- Toshiba Thrive Tablet (Custom ROM)
- Logitech Revue with GoogleTV
 
Apota
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2007
I wonder if it's a compatibility issue with my router. Maybe I should go try it on someone elses router and not broadcast their SSID and see what happens. That will help me determine if my phones defective, or if it's a compatibility issue, etc.

I'll still do a factory reset and replace the phone if I still have problems to see what those results are too. It would also be helpful if people with the same phone tested it out to see what their results are. Thanks!
- Samsung Galaxy S5
- iPad 4
- Samsung Galaxy Nexus
- Original Droid A855 (Rooted)
- Toshiba Thrive Tablet (Custom ROM)
- Logitech Revue with GoogleTV
 
sgtcasey
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apota View Post
I wonder if it's a compatibility issue with my router. Maybe I should go try it on someone elses router and not broadcast their SSID and see what happens. That will help me determine if my phones defective, or if it's a compatibility issue, etc.

I'll still do a factory reset and replace the phone if I still have problems to see what those results are too. It would also be helpful if people with the same phone tested it out to see what their results are. Thanks!
I am using a Samsung Galaxy S5 and have zero issues connecting to my home network where the SSID is not being broadcast.

Dave
 
Apota
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtcasey View Post
I am using a Samsung Galaxy S5 and have zero issues connecting to my home network where the SSID is not being broadcast.

Dave
Thanks for the information. To help me trouble shoot it did you connect 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz? What's the make & model of your router? I'm trying to figure out if my phone is defective or it'a a compatibility issue with my router. I'm trying to connect 5Ghz so maybe I'll try 2.4Ghz now. I'll also try connecting with someone else's router. Thanks!
- Samsung Galaxy S5
- iPad 4
- Samsung Galaxy Nexus
- Original Droid A855 (Rooted)
- Toshiba Thrive Tablet (Custom ROM)
- Logitech Revue with GoogleTV
 
ratgurrl
Old
#7  
ratgurrl's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Default Try adding the network manually

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apota View Post
I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy S5 and I have a Western Digital My Net N750 Router. I have SSID Broadcast Disabled and the S5 won't connect. If I start broadcasting the SSID it has no problems connecting.

I have over 20 other devices that have no problems connecting with the SSID disabled, so I don't understand why the S5 can't do it. Even my 3 year old Samsung Galaxy Nexus has no problems connecting with SSID disabled.

I called Verizon and they said they haven't heard of this problem before and that the phone is defective and to return it for a replacement but I have a feeling I'll have the same problem with the replacement phone. I've searched Google trying to find people with similar problems but I can't find any other posts. Can you please help me! Thanks so much.
I had this same issue. It would happen if I had the SSID broadcasting, connected my S5, then turned off the broadcast on the router. It wouldn't work if the phone had found the network through a scan. I got mine to work (with my Netgear R6250) by adding wireless network manually on the phone. Hope this helps you, too.

Tags
ssid broadcast disabled can't connect
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more