Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] after Rom flash issue

OP nibblemynutz

20th May 2014, 12:14 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I'm no expert on that. But that is the Sprint mobile correct? I'm not sure of the difference between that and the international one. Did you try flashing roms from the Sprint HTC one forum. They may not be compatible

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 AM ----------

You really should post in the Sprint forum anyways

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th May 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #12  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,118
 
6,274 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nibblemynutz

Sure.

version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
version-baseband: N/A
version-main:

version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
product: m7_wls
modelid: PN0720000
cidnum: SPCS_001

I think you're doing quite a few mistakes here, including using recoveries not for you phone.

TWRP for Sprint is here: http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7wls


Now luckily you are S-Off, so best to RUU back to Sprint to fix your partitions, then you can start customizing again.

With S-Off there is no need to lock/relock bootloader, you can leave it UNLOCKED.


If you are using an RUU.EXE then you will manually have to downgrade hboot to 1.44 first for it to work, otherwise I would really recommend you use a ruu.zip (and make sure it's Sprint and check MD5 on the download to know it's not corrupt):

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
<- yes TWICE !!
fastboot reboot-bootloader


And don't even think about S-ON!!

.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th May 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

I think you're doing quite a few mistakes here, including using recoveries not for you phone.

TWRP for Sprint is here: http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7wls


Now luckily you are S-Off, so best to RUU back to Sprint to fix your partitions, then you can start customizing again.

With S-Off there is no need to lock/relock bootloader, you can leave it UNLOCKED.


If you are using an RUU.EXE then you will manually have to downgrade hboot to 1.44 first for it to work, otherwise I would really recommend you use a ruu.zip (and make sure it's Sprint and check MD5 on the download to know it's not corrupt):

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
<- yes TWICE !!
fastboot reboot-bootloader


And don't even think about S-ON!!

.

nkk71
I ran different recoveries for the m7, twrp 263, philz, twrp 70 because I was told the newer twrp recovery has slight bugs. I always wiped clean after I tried installing roms also. I'll take your advice and try the RUU.zip.
20th May 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #14  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,118
 
6,274 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nibblemynutz

nkk71
I ran different recoveries for the m7, twrp 263, philz, twrp 70 because I was told the newer twrp recovery has slight bugs. I always wiped clean after I tried installing roms also. I'll take your advice and try the RUU.zip.

best to use an ruu.zip to get your partitions back in order, then go ahead and flash a recovery (specifically for Sprint; eg I don't think Sprint has a 2.6.3.3 version), and then you can customize your phone to your liking

most of us are on m7_u/ul , so it's sort of "second nature" to say: use twrp 2.6.3.3
20th May 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
So i pushed Ruu.zip to my /sdcard idk if i needed that and did fastboot fastboot oem rebootRUU then fastboot flash zip ruu.zip twice like you said. I tried again after deleting Ruu.zip from my /sdcard and it still gave me

Quote:

sending 'zip' (1601236 KB)...
FAILED (remote: 02 data length is too large)
finished. total time: 0.008s

I got the RUU.zip file from here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2658910

I'm gonna try this RUU file from here


http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...decrypted-zip/
Last edited by nibblemynutz; 20th May 2014 at 11:55 PM.
20th May 2014, 11:44 PM   |  #16  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,263
 
4,601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nibblemynutz

So i pushed Ruu.zip to my /sdcard idk if i needed that and did fastboot fastboot oem rebootRUU then fastboot flash zip ruu.zip twice like you said. I tried again after deleting Ruu.zip from my /sdcard and it still gave me



I got the RUU.zip file from here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2658910

I'm gonna try this RUU file from here

http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...decrypted-zip/

the RUU.zip needs to be in the folder with fastboot ..not on the phone
the 4.xx. one should work fine just be sure you got the decrypted one not the RUU.EXE in a zip file
Last edited by clsA; 20th May 2014 at 11:47 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

the RUU.zip needs to be in the folder with fastboot ..not on the phone
the 4.xx. one should work fine just be sure you got the decrypted one not the RUU.EXE in a zip file

Haha, I had double checked and found that out.

Thanks so much, I really appreciate the help. Especially nkk71!

All is well, my phone is functional again!, now for the 2nd attempt for a custom rom flash! Looking at bad boy or android revolution! I'm not sure about viper one but heard good things about it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes