Google Maps, My Maps, YouTube, Androidify, Slides, Music Updated–Here’s What’s New

In the last few weeks, Google has been … more

SuperSU BETA: Root Android Lollipop on Stock Kernel

Up until now, if you wanted to get root on Android 5.0, you needed to flash a modified … more

Android App Review: Get Amaze with Material Design – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. Android 5.0 … more

Small But Eternal: HTC Explorer Receives Unofficial CM12

When HTC officially announced the HTC Explorer, they most likely weren’t … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

won't power on but battery not flat, recovered after an hour charging

OP wintermute000

20th May 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Anyone had an issue where out of nowhere, the tablet appears bricked, won't respond to power button even held down for >30 seconds?

Mine did that and it was at around 50% battery.

I charged it anyway for around an hour and then it powered on OK (phew). The battery said 90% on poweron, so I know for a fact it wasn't flat when it 'softbricked' (as an hour will only charge the battery halfway or even less).
I was running stamina mode, not sure if its got anything to do with it.

Really hope it doesn't repeat otherwise I have to return it.... or is this software bug....
20th May 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #2  
LitoNi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 705
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
i believe its volume up + power button for hard reset

and it seems like you have a faulty one... try repairing it with sony pc companion first, if the problem still persist then exchange for a new one.
20th May 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I figure I"ll give it at least an update first before returning it. Its otherwise a fantastic device, and this is the first trouble I've had.

FWIW it hasn't done it again, been around 48 hours now.so hoping one off.
20th May 2014, 02:11 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermute000

I figure I"ll give it at least an update first before returning it. Its otherwise a fantastic device, and this is the first trouble I've had.

FWIW it hasn't done it again, been around 48 hours now.so hoping one off.

I had, but as @LitoNi writes you must press power + volume up simultaneously in 10 seconds. It is written in the installation guide that came along with your tablet. I first tried the small red button next to sd-card in vain, because that is reset on my Z Ultra.
21st May 2014, 03:47 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmeinert

I had, but as @LitoNi writes you must press power + volume up simultaneously in 10 seconds. It is written in the installation guide that came along with your tablet. I first tried the small red button next to sd-card in vain, because that is reset on my Z Ultra.

OK so you had the problem as well? Has it recurred for you?

next time try charging it for an hour, might save you a hard reset
21st May 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermute000

OK so you had the problem as well? Has it recurred for you?

next time try charging it for an hour, might save you a hard reset

Yes, pressing power+volume up restarted.

it's a soft-reset (power cycle) not hard reset.

Hardly anything to do with battery in my case, since it was fully charged and still was after soft-reset. It just happened from one moment to the next. I was sitting with several gadget and switching between them. Since I am rooted, It could be an xposed module locking up.

I was very worried at the time, till I found the guide. I hasn't occured since.
21st May 2014, 09:59 AM   |  #7  
LitoNi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 705
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Holding down:

volume up + power button = ~1-3 seconds = 1 vibrate = reboot/hard reset

volume up + power button = ~5 seconds or more = 3 vibrate = force shut down
21st May 2014, 10:09 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LitoNi

Holding down:

volume up + power button = ~1-3 seconds = 1 vibrate = reboot/hard reset

volume up + power button = ~5 seconds or more = 3 vibrate = force shut down

A hard reset restore to factory settings and clear the device. That is NOT what happens.

The installation guide only mention 10 seconds and that was a restart as far as I remember. Don't have the device with me, to test.
21st May 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #9  
LitoNi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 705
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmeinert

A hard reset restore to factory settings and clear the device. That is NOT what happens.

The installation guide only mention 10 seconds and that was a restart as far as I remember. Don't have the device with me, to test.

just tested on my Z2 tablet, seems like sony changed how things work with V up + power

Holding down:

volume up + power button = ~1-3 seconds = 1 vibrate = reboot/hard reset no longer reboots. to force reboot: just open the flaps and click on it the little button.

volume up + power button = ~1-2 seconds or more = 3 vibrate = force shut down
21st May 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LitoNi

just tested on my Z2 tablet, seems like sony changed how things work with V up + power

Holding down:

volume up + power button = ~1-3 seconds = 1 vibrate = reboot/hard reset no longer reboots. to force reboot: just open the flaps and click on it the little button.

volume up + power button = ~1-2 seconds or more = 3 vibrate = force shut down

You are right about power off. This time the little red button also did that for me. Anyhow, as long as I can reboot and enter recovery or fastboot I am fine. Then I can always wipe what I want, if factory settings and clearing the device are needed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes