Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,848 Members 36,620 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is GLONASS fixed in I9505XXUAME2?

Tip us?
 
Breach1337
Old
(Last edited by Breach1337; 19th April 2014 at 11:57 PM.) Reason: Err
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brussels
Default [Q] Is GLONASS fixed in I9505XXUAME2?

[Edit: Ignore the title, I meant I9505XXUFNC9]

Just checking with folks running I9505XXUFNC9 - did Samsung finally fix the "4.4.2 will not lock in to GLONASS satellites" issue?

Cheers
 
Layio
Old
#2  
Layio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 169
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Poznan, Poland
Still not fixed. "If want GLONASS, buy new S5" - Samsung
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Layio For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dave106
Old
#3  
dave106's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 544
Join Date: Dec 2005
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1397996489942.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	2697769 the i9500 has no problems locking on to glonass. So the 9505 isn't doing it??

Sent from my GT-I9500
Samsung Galaxy S4 - i9500 - Black Mist - 16GB with 32GB
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, 8.0" - SM-T310 - Midnight Black - 16GB
 
Breach1337
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brussels
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave106 View Post
Attachment 2697769 the i9500 has no problems locking on to glonass. So the 9505 isn't doing it??

Sent from my GT-I9500
Nope. At least not on my 4.4.2 (I9505XXUFNB8). It sees the satellites, but doesn't ever lock to them. It's a known issue on i9505 4.4.2.
 
xtrustkillx
Old
#5  
xtrustkillx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
as far as i know it is power saving feature not bug. snapdragon will kick glonass when gps signal is too ****y.
 
zlovenac
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrustkillx View Post
as far as i know it is power saving feature not bug. snapdragon will kick glonass when gps signal is too ****y.
Nope, it is a bug on i9505 - kitkat combination. It is not possible to lock any GLONASS satellites.

If anyone knows if there is a custom kitkat based ROM that is not affected, I would appreciate the answer.
 
xtrustkillx
Old
#7  
xtrustkillx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Snapdragon processor automatically knows when to power on the GLONASS service, and when to leave it off. GLONASS will only engage when an adequate GPS signal canít be found. This extends battery life while providing the best navigation experience possible.
copypaste from qualcomm site
 
Breach1337
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brussels
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrustkillx View Post
Snapdragon processor automatically knows when to power on the GLONASS service, and when to leave it off. GLONASS will only engage when an adequate GPS signal canít be found. This extends battery life while providing the best navigation experience possible.
copypaste from qualcomm site
OK, thanks. This could be so, but on the other hand I distinctly remember seeing both GPS and GLONASS locking in 4.2.x or 4.3.x?
 
Aycim
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 63
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Zwickau
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrustkillx View Post
Snapdragon processor automatically knows when to power on the GLONASS service, and when to leave it off. GLONASS will only engage when an adequate GPS signal canít be found. This extends battery life while providing the best navigation experience possible.
copypaste from qualcomm site

I think this can't be true, not under kitkat. It is a bug.
When i was on old bootloader, and it was no problem to switch between 4.3 and 4.4 it was clearly to see: no glonass on kitkat, and instantly glonass-fix under jellybean.
Since I've got kitkat, i never had a glonass-fix, although i could see them.
 
Breach1337
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brussels
FYI - fixed in NE5 firmware.

(of course I have Exchange wake lock issues now but that's another story

The Following User Says Thank You to Breach1337 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
s4 glonass
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more