How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Poor wifi signal

OP souledout

20th May 2014, 08:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Sooo I've had my M8 for nearly a month now and I love the thing. However, I notice that I've been having some issues with the M8 not being able to detect or connect to my home and office's wifi. My laptop and my fiance's Nexus 5 can detect our home wifi network with full strength.
Interestingly, the closer I get to my router, the stronger the signal gets, but the moment I move maybe 20 feet away into another room, the wifi cuts out or gets very weak. I understand that distance is a factor, but I feel that my M8 should be able to connect to my router in the next room, especially when other devices can do so with no problem.

I think it's also worth noting that this was not always an issue. This only started happening recently - the only software upgrade that I did was the Verizon push that installed right out the box. I have not made any changes to my wifi network at home or work.

I've tried a couple of things with no resolution, including;

Resetting my router (power cycling)
Restarting my phone
Forgetting both wifi networks and manually re-adding them
Changing my wifi direct name
Turning on airplane mode, turning off my wifi, turning off airplane mode then turning on wifi (this was a suggested method for the M7 that I saw on another forum)
I did some Googling and didnt find much, so maybe I just have a lemon, but I did see that wifi connectivity was an issue with the M7.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
20th May 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I'm having the exact same problem getting over 20Mbps over Ethernet but then 0.25Mbps on my M8 over WiFi even when close to router
20th May 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #3  
kennypow3rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 809
 
2,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Have you guys played around with your routers settings?

What signal is your router on, wireless b,g,n,ac?

Is it throwing mixed frequency? (2.4ghz or 5ghz or both)

Go to WiFi settings in the phone, then advanced, then it will probably say "auto".

Try setting it on only 2.4ghz or only 5ghz see if that helps.

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
21st May 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Tried that and my router is just b and g suppose upgrading to an n or ac router would sort it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeMidd09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2014, 04:02 PM   |  #5  
kennypow3rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 809
 
2,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMidd09

Tried that and my router is just b and g suppose upgrading to an n or ac router would sort it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

Yup lol. B and G are long outdated. Need N so your speeds can fly...

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
21st May 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 8
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennypow3rs

Try setting it on only 2.4ghz or only 5ghz see if that helps.


This. Worked for me...and on my old Nexus 4. I think it is a KitKat thing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes