Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,888 Members 36,667 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Poor wifi signal

Tip us?
 
souledout
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default [Q] Poor wifi signal

Sooo I've had my M8 for nearly a month now and I love the thing. However, I notice that I've been having some issues with the M8 not being able to detect or connect to my home and office's wifi. My laptop and my fiance's Nexus 5 can detect our home wifi network with full strength.
Interestingly, the closer I get to my router, the stronger the signal gets, but the moment I move maybe 20 feet away into another room, the wifi cuts out or gets very weak. I understand that distance is a factor, but I feel that my M8 should be able to connect to my router in the next room, especially when other devices can do so with no problem.

I think it's also worth noting that this was not always an issue. This only started happening recently - the only software upgrade that I did was the Verizon push that installed right out the box. I have not made any changes to my wifi network at home or work.

I've tried a couple of things with no resolution, including;

Resetting my router (power cycling)
Restarting my phone
Forgetting both wifi networks and manually re-adding them
Changing my wifi direct name
Turning on airplane mode, turning off my wifi, turning off airplane mode then turning on wifi (this was a suggested method for the M7 that I saw on another forum)
I did some Googling and didnt find much, so maybe I just have a lemon, but I did see that wifi connectivity was an issue with the M7.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
JoeMidd09
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
I'm having the exact same problem getting over 20Mbps over Ethernet but then 0.25Mbps on my M8 over WiFi even when close to router
 
kennypow3rs
Old
#3  
kennypow3rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 753
Posts: 2,008
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston
Have you guys played around with your routers settings?

What signal is your router on, wireless b,g,n,ac?

Is it throwing mixed frequency? (2.4ghz or 5ghz or both)

Go to WiFi settings in the phone, then advanced, then it will probably say "auto".

Try setting it on only 2.4ghz or only 5ghz see if that helps.

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
 
JoeMidd09
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Tried that and my router is just b and g suppose upgrading to an n or ac router would sort it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeMidd09 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kennypow3rs
Old
#5  
kennypow3rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 753
Posts: 2,008
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMidd09 View Post
Tried that and my router is just b and g suppose upgrading to an n or ac router would sort it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Yup lol. B and G are long outdated. Need N so your speeds can fly...

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
 
nycebo
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 92
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennypow3rs View Post
Try setting it on only 2.4ghz or only 5ghz see if that helps.

This. Worked for me...and on my old Nexus 4. I think it is a KitKat thing.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes