Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,915 Members 42,330 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Concept "X"[For Rom Porters Only][$$Save Money$$]

Tip us?
 
digyvijaykumar123
Old
(Last edited by digyvijaykumar123; 17th May 2014 at 10:25 AM.)
#1  
digyvijaykumar123's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1770
Posts: 268
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Koderma

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Concept "X"[For Rom Porters Only][$$Save Money$$]

CONCEPT "X"



Introducing You My Concept For Rom Porting And Uploading."Easier to Upload with Slow and Low Data Pack For Rom Porter Devs."



Concept:-

What Earlier Rom Devs or Porters Were Doing:-They download a rom to port from other device and then port it and upload it for their device.

With Concept X Now Rom Porters can Do:-
Now they need to download the rom they want to port but they will need only to upload 10-25MB file.How?See below...


*Instead of uploading full Rom,you should only upload your changed files flash-able zip via CWM.
For Example:-

Quote:
If i ported a rom by modifying boot.img,apps,libs,firmwares etc....then insted of uploading full rom i will upload only a patch with all files which are to be replaced while porting.Then i will give the users the link of PORT rom from which i ported my rom and also the patch which i created.



Before You begin check that PORT Rom contains no uboot.bin,recovery and assert device line at the top of updater script.This will brick your device.
Try only if your Rom have only folders and files from list below:-
#data(folder)
#META-INF(folder)
#System(folder)
#Boot.img(file)
#Logo.bin(file)


Do not try if Rom have these files or folder structure in the Port Rom zip:-
#uboot.bin
#IK.bin
#recovery.img
#assert device line at the top of updater script.
#Different Mount Points under Updater script.




I ported 6 Roms From A116 to A110Q successfully and applied this method i saved lots of DATA and Money.You can Find my Concept "X" based Roms in my signature Jelly bean section.This method will work perfectly if your PORT Rom meet above criteria.


How To Do:-
1) Download you PORT rom which you wanna port.
2) Port your Rom and Keep in mind the files you changed for porting.
3)Now Download my patch zips from below and open with 7zip.You can do it yourself if you have knowledge about updater scripts.
4)Now make directories according to your files changed during porting and add those files by dragging into my patch zip.
5)Flash the Untouched PORT Rom(in which no changes made) and then after flashing it flash patch zip which you created by above method.
6)Now your Rom should boot if you ported successfully.



How to use My Concept "X" Patch zip:-
1)open my zip with 7zip and you will see following files/folder structure:-
#data
#META-INF
#system
#boot.img
#logo.bin
#uboot.bin


2)Remove the folders/files which you don't need to change in PORT rom.Means if you are not changing uboot.bin,logo.bin,data etc then delete these files/folders from zip without extracting with 7zip.

3)For example if you ports a rom by replacing
[COLOR="rgb(255, 140, 0)"]boot.img
system/etc/firmware
system/lib/modules
system/lib/hw
system/vendor
system/build.prop[/COLOR]

then you will delete uboot.bin,logo.bin.data from my patch zip.Now you only need to modify updater script according to your file/folder changes in patch zip.

4)Drag drop updater script from my zip to anywhere in pc,then edit with notepad++.

5)Above we deleated uboot,data,logo from zip so we will Put "#" in front of the line which executes that folder/file.See below:-
Updater script provided in my zip:-
 

Code:
Select Code
ui_print("===================================");      
ui_print("           PATCH                   ");
ui_print("      BASED ON CONCEPT X           ");
ui_print("   by: digyvijaykumar123@xda       ");
ui_print("===================================");
ui_print("");
ui_print("Starting installation....");
show_progress(0.500000, 0);
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p5", "/system");
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p7", "/data");
package_extract_dir("data", "/data");
set_perm_recursive(1000, 1000, 0771, 0644, "/data/app");
package_extract_dir("system", "/system");
show_progress(0.200000, 0);
show_progress(0.100000, 0);
ui_print("[*] Flashing partition: BOOT");
assert(package_extract_file("boot.img", "/tmp/boot.img"),
       write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img", "bootimg"),
       delete("/tmp/boot.img"));
assert(package_extract_file("logo.bin", "/tmp/logo.bin"),
       write_raw_image("/tmp/logo.bin", "logo"),
       delete("/tmp/logo.bin"));	   
package_extract_file("uboot.bin", "/dev/uboot");
show_progress(0.100000, 0);
unmount("/system");
unmount("/data");
ui_print("[*] Installation complete.");
ui_print("");

You need to add "#" like below:-
 

Code:
Select Code
ui_print("===================================");      
ui_print("           PATCH                   ");
ui_print("      BASED ON CONCEPT X           ");
ui_print("   by: digyvijaykumar123@xda       ");
ui_print("===================================");
ui_print("");
ui_print("Starting installation....");
show_progress(0.500000, 0);
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p5", "/system");
#mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p7", "/data");
#package_extract_dir("data", "/data");
#set_perm_recursive(1000, 1000, 0771, 0644, "/data/app");
package_extract_dir("system", "/system");
show_progress(0.200000, 0);
show_progress(0.100000, 0);
ui_print("[*] Flashing partition: BOOT");
assert(package_extract_file("boot.img", "/tmp/boot.img"),
       write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img", "bootimg"),
       delete("/tmp/boot.img"));
#assert(package_extract_file("logo.bin", "/tmp/logo.bin"),
#       write_raw_image("/tmp/logo.bin", "logo"),
#       delete("/tmp/logo.bin"));	   
#package_extract_file("uboot.bin", "/dev/uboot");
show_progress(0.100000, 0);
unmount("/system");
unmount("/data");
ui_print("[*] Installation complete.");
ui_print("");


6)So you can see above that "#" is put after the lines which are not be processed.

7)After finishing editing updater script according to your need,you will drag back updater script to my patch(7zip).

8)Now check by flashing Untouched PORT Rom then my patch zip.



My sample patch zip-DOWNLOAD

If you Want to Learn How To Port Then See Here

If you Use My Concept then PlZ add a link to here,its only a request,if you don't add then also NO Issue....

MTK STUFF:-KITKAT ROMS:::::::::::::JELLY BEANS:::::::::::::GUIDES:::::::::::::TOOLS&UTILITY:::::::::::::MY X CONCEPT
Devices:-
Current :- Xiaomi Mi3
Previous :- MMx C2+
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to digyvijaykumar123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
digyvijaykumar123
Old
(Last edited by digyvijaykumar123; 17th May 2014 at 05:31 AM.)
#2  
digyvijaykumar123's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1770
Posts: 268
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Koderma

 
DONATE TO ME
IF YOU ARE GETTING ERRORS IN FLASHING PATCH ZIP AFTER PORT ZIP THEN USE NOTEPAD++ ONLY.And check updater script Carefully.
Or you can comment any questions below or PM me.I am Happy to help.

MTK STUFF:-KITKAT ROMS:::::::::::::JELLY BEANS:::::::::::::GUIDES:::::::::::::TOOLS&UTILITY:::::::::::::MY X CONCEPT
Devices:-
Current :- Xiaomi Mi3
Previous :- MMx C2+
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to digyvijaykumar123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Minions_Army
Old
#3  
Minions_Army's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 428
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 【Gru Laboratories】
let see


is work on armv6?
 
digyvijaykumar123
Old
#4  
digyvijaykumar123's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1770
Posts: 268
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Koderma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minions_Army View Post
let see


is work on armv6?
Yes,it will work

MTK STUFF:-KITKAT ROMS:::::::::::::JELLY BEANS:::::::::::::GUIDES:::::::::::::TOOLS&UTILITY:::::::::::::MY X CONCEPT
Devices:-
Current :- Xiaomi Mi3
Previous :- MMx C2+
The Following User Says Thank You to digyvijaykumar123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Avenger4droid
Old
#5  
Avenger4droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 426
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ahmedabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by digyvijaykumar123 View Post
Yes,it will work
i tried porting color os but havind status 7 error in original zip....
 
digyvijaykumar123
Old
#6  
digyvijaykumar123's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1770
Posts: 268
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Koderma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenger4droid View Post
i tried porting color os but havind status 7 error in original zip....
Check your Updater Script.....or post here

MTK STUFF:-KITKAT ROMS:::::::::::::JELLY BEANS:::::::::::::GUIDES:::::::::::::TOOLS&UTILITY:::::::::::::MY X CONCEPT
Devices:-
Current :- Xiaomi Mi3
Previous :- MMx C2+
 
Avenger4droid
Old
(Last edited by Avenger4droid; 20th May 2014 at 08:22 AM.)
#7  
Avenger4droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 426
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ahmedabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by digyvijaykumar123 View Post
Check your Updater Script.....or post here
ok giving.....

here is the updater script...http://d-h.st/b5U

i am porting from cross a7s mt6577 device

and i myself have mmx a110 canvas 2 .....
 
DroidX77
Old
#8  
DroidX77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 497
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Yogyakarta - Indonesia
For aosp base or manufactur rom? Like touchwiz, sense.
Sorry
Waiting Android "L"


Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 I9500
ROM: ARROW V15 XXUGNG3

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
ROM: Omni Nightly
Kernel: AGNi CM

Respect!
 
Lal Ayer
Old
#9  
Lal Ayer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 284
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mahendranagar,Nepal

 
DONATE TO ME
i definitely try this method i like your hard work bro u r tooo goood man wow how Awesome Ever I will try bro

---------- Post added at 04:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenger4droid View Post
i tried porting color os but havind status 7 error in original zip....
i thing thats kernel error include Boot.img and try
ClickThanks if you Like My Above Post

Here is My Signature
[ROM][JB 4.2] LBA™ Smart® ROM for MMX A110
 
cornelha
Old
#10  
cornelha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 549
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Durban
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lal Ayer View Post
i definitely try this method i like your hard work bro u r tooo goood man wow how Awesome Ever I will try bro

---------- Post added at 04:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 PM ----------



i thing thats kernel error include Boot.img and try
No, thats due to the recovery, use the latest CWM or TWRP for the device.
Samsung Galaxy SIII
OmniRom 4.4.1 Nightly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more