Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Constantly rebooting...

OP pdn190

1st May 2014, 08:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Hello, this is my first post here and I have searched for a similar post or issue but have been unsuccessful finding anything.

Please forgive me if I have posted in the wrong area, missed a solution somewhere and/or have not explained anything correctly/clearly.

My Nexus 7 (2012) (I installed Cyanogen on it (and updated it once) through their installer and it has run perfectly for months) started rebooting randomly one morning. I turn it on and it seems to be normal, then it will suddenly reboot. The time between reboots varies ranging from 30 seconds to a few minutes. I can not install or update any apps and any settings changed are reset back to what they were previously upon reboot. I have tried a factory reset and while it appears to wipe everything (all caches and data) when I reboot it is the same as before the reset (I also receive this message (after all other processes are complete) during the data wipe "E: unknown volume "/sdcard/.android_secure" "). I am able to turn on developer options but then the random reboot occurs and it is turned off. I have plugged it to my computer and see it listed, but can not access anything on it.

My intention is to wipe it using my computer (fastboot?) but I am at a standstill due to the rebooting and being unable to turn on developer options.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
2nd May 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #2  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Have you tried flashing another ROM in recovery? Perhaps try to see if you can access the filesystem while in recovery or if the bootloader brings anything up on your computer.
14th May 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

Have you tried flashing another ROM in recovery? Perhaps try to see if you can access the filesystem while in recovery or if the bootloader brings anything up on your computer.

Thanks for the reply. Sorry for my delay in replying. I've been rather frustrated with this.

I flashed the official image (downloaded from the google site) using fastboot and it seemed to work as all messages said complete but when I rebooted, it was back to it's current state. I am at a loss. I also tried adb sideloading but that just hangs when it gets to installing. It does not reboot randomly when it is in recovery.
14th May 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #4  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdn190

Thanks for the reply. Sorry for my delay in replying. I've been rather frustrated with this.

I flashed the official image (downloaded from the google site) using fastboot and it seemed to work as all messages said complete but when I rebooted, it was back to it's current state. I am at a loss. I also tried adb sideloading but that just hangs when it gets to installing. It does not reboot randomly when it is in recovery.

No worries!

So CyanogenMod is still installed? Oh my. Has anything at all changed? If you still have custom recovery installed, why not try a near stock ROM?
14th May 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

No worries!

So CyanogenMod is still installed? Oh my. Has anything at all changed? If you still have custom recovery installed, why not try a near stock ROM?

Yes. No matter what I do, when I reboot it's still Cyanogen. Being a semi-novice at this, I didn't backup the stock ROM I had before installing Cyanogen. It feels like a virus, but I pretty much installed the exact same apps on both my phone and tablet and the phone has been fine.

I used this image(nakasi kot49h). Should I try a earlier version?

Thank you.
14th May 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #6  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdn190

Yes. No matter what I do, when I reboot it's still Cyanogen. Being a semi-novice at this, I didn't backup the stock ROM I had before installing Cyanogen. It feels like a virus, but I pretty much installed the exact same apps on both my phone and tablet and the phone has been fine.

I used this image(nakasi kot49h). Should I try a earlier version?

Thank you.

You can always try. Also make sure you check md5 before flashing, that may explain why stock didn't flash correctly.
22nd May 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
And I still can't get anything to work. Most recently I tried using wugfresh and EVERYTHING works except when it writes bootloader.img at the start. I feel like I am close but then it reboots back to cyanogen. lol

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes