Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Need answers :D

OP Axelgux

22nd May 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Hello I just got an atrix 4g bc I heard they were good phones, it is rooted, now, I have the option to upgrade to the Update 4.5.145.
But I've read from a lot of people that this update is bad and this and that,,,

So I need a concrete answer, is it a good option to update?
What I care about is, Do I lose SIM-Unlock? Can I root this version? are there downsides to this version?

I'm using it with Mexican TELCEL, just in case you wanted to know
22nd May 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #2  
ravilov's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,330
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
Whatever you heard is wrong. .145 is only a minor update and it has no known downsides. Rooting is slightly more difficult due to /system getting pretty full but still doable. SIM lock has nothing to do with any kind of system update.
The Following User Says Thank You to ravilov For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd May 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravilov

Whatever you heard is wrong. .145 is only a minor update and it has no known downsides. Rooting is slightly more difficult due to /system getting pretty full but still doable. SIM lock has nothing to do with any kind of system update.

So I can update and still have the Sim unlocked? Ok thanks
23rd May 2014, 12:39 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravilov

Whatever you heard is wrong. .145 is only a minor update and it has no known downsides. Rooting is slightly more difficult due to /system getting pretty full but still doable. SIM lock has nothing to do with any kind of system update.

Okay I tried the update, by any chance do you know why did it failed to update?
The phone rebooted and a message appeared that said failed to update
23rd May 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #5  
ravilov's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,330
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
You probably have a custom recovery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes