Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,955 Members 52,861 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root gets rid of all radio stuff?

Tip us?
 
rlewis312010
Old
(Last edited by rlewis312010; 22nd May 2014 at 11:24 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Root gets rid of all radio stuff?

I had an issue with Alliance rom. It went from wifi to 4g and I lost the prl and other stuff (said unknown). I only had wifi.

I was able to Odin back to stock. It took like three times as it would not move past the activation screen.

Now, on stock, I flashed TWRP recovering using ODIN, then used the CF root from Odin also. Phone restarted and while I have the 4g logo, I have no phone and the information is missing again (PRL). I do get wifi.


I just used Odin to reflash stock and it is still doing it. I also used the imei tool to restore what I had backed up (EFS). Can anyone help? What is going wrong?

Edit: Phone restarted with root BUT now I cannot make calls (it says roaming) and I am missing the prl and other things again. HOWEVER, I can use wifi, and 4g and no texting also.

If anyone has a clue I'd like to know, thanks.
 
rlewis312010
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlewis312010 View Post
I had an issue with Alliance rom. It went from wifi to 4g and I lost the prl and other stuff (said unknown). I only had wifi.

I was able to Odin back to stock. It took like three times as it would not move past the activation screen.

Now, on stock, I flashed TWRP recovering using ODIN, then used the CF root from Odin also. Phone restarted and while I have the 4g logo, I have no phone and the information is missing again (PRL). I do get wifi.


I just used Odin to reflash stock and it is still doing it. I also used the imei tool to restore what I had backed up (EFS). Can anyone help? What is going wrong?

Edit: Phone restarted with root BUT now I cannot make calls (it says roaming) and I am missing the prl and other things again. HOWEVER, I can use wifi, and 4g and no texting also.

If anyone has a clue I'd like to know, thanks.
Please somebody has to know something. Give me a clue, help me out please.
 
stalli0nUK
Old
#3  
stalli0nUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oxford
Have you tried flashing the stock rom modem?

give some info on what s5 you have, G900F? what stock rom have you flashed?

Samsung S5 - G900F
XtreStoLite ROM
KT-SGS5 Kernel
 
rlewis312010
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stalli0nUK View Post
Have you tried flashing the stock rom modem?

give some info on what s5 you have, G900F? what stock rom have you flashed?
I actually could not find the stock modem. I DID solve it.
1.) Odin back to stock. It will freeze on the activation screen.
2.) Remove sim card after shutting down.
3.) It will get past that and connect with wifi.
4.) THEN clock on roaming to turn it on with sim in.
5.) Phone will then contact US Cellular to "activate and program." It will finish after a few minutes.
6.) Restart and enjoy

In case this happens to anyone else. Thanks for the help (lol). I've had a Droid Eris, HTC DNA, and a Droid Bionic.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes