Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,480 Members 54,308 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ERROR] "Could not do normal boot" (AKA - Recovery Broken?)

Tip us?
 
crobs808
Old
(Last edited by crobs808; 23rd May 2014 at 04:34 AM.)
#1  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
Question [ERROR] "Could not do normal boot" (AKA - Recovery Broken?)

I am about at my wits end...Rewind to two days ago...

Order of events:
1. Received my new S4 in the mail a few days ago to replace my old S3. I received the S4 fully updated with the NC5 OTA (yeah, I know, bad juju).
2. So I followed Surge's downgrade thread HERE and am now downgraded to the MK2 build, but with no sound and the telephone/calls app does not work.
3. I then downloaded GooManager and installed the OpenRecovery from TWRP, and it said it installed correctly. However, now I CANNOT GET INTO RECOVERY no matter how I try (via VolUp+Home+Power or via "Reboot into recovery" from the GooManager app). It just goes into Download mode with an error at the top in re that says "Could not do normal boot"
4. At this point the phone just boot loops into Download mode. Cannot go into recovery or the MK2 Rom. I then have to reflash the MK2 downgrade files in order (downgrade, system, cache) in order to get a working phone again and I have now probably done this at least 8 times. It is getting old.

So, I am curious what I need to do now. I have gone through the MK2 downgrade process multiple times and tried again to no avail. I also tried flashing the TWRP .Tar file (directly via Odin) but no luck also --- Is there like a super/clean ODIN file I can use that will also reset the recovery image on the phone? I feel that is my main problem, then I can fix the sound/phone problems after that.

This thing is 10x harder to get on CM than the S3 which I had running CM within 2 hours of ownership. I'd appreciate any help to get me back on path.



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization
 
crobs808
Old
(Last edited by crobs808; 23rd May 2014 at 04:46 AM.)
#2  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
FYI - I can install Safestrap 3.71/3.72 and get into those fine, but if I want a chance of running CM I will need a Loki recovery right? If so, I just do not see how I am going to get there.

My ultimate goal is a clean rom, and I was so used to CM on my S3 that I'd hate to part with that, but if there is a Safestrap-friendly ROM that is very clean/similar, then I will take that any day. Ready to be done with this - easiest way out.

--edit--
Found this...can I just follow these steps or is that only for people still on MDK?? http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_jfltevzw



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization
 
joshm.1219
Old
#3  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,325
Posts: 3,131
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
There's absolutely no way to get cm, aosp, or twrp on your device .

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: Verizon
  • PHONE: Samsung S4 HTC One Max
  • CASE: Otterbox Defender modded to fit Anker 7800mah battery HTC PowerFlip
  • BOOTLOADER: MDK, loki bypass S-OFF & Relocked
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.x
  • KERNEL: Ktoonsez with Project Icarus profile and Hydra script FlyKernel
  • ROM: Eclipse TW 4.4 Adrenaline Sense 6
  • LAUNCHER & MODS: Google Now launcher with XGEL settings, GravityBox, Heads Up notifications, & Android L navbar
The Following User Says Thank You to joshm.1219 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crobs808
Old
#4  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219 View Post
There's absolutely no way to get cm, aosp, or twrp on your device .

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Yeah, pretty sure I am convinced of that now.

So, should I upgrade to the rooted-NC5 (Surge's method), and THEN put a Safestrap-custom-ROM on, or just do it now running rooted-MK2?



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization
 
joshm.1219
Old
#5  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,325
Posts: 3,131
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobs808 View Post
Yeah, pretty sure I am convinced of that now.

So, should I upgrade to the rooted-NC5 (Surge's method), and THEN put a Safestrap-custom-ROM on, or just do it now running rooted-MK2?
Well it depends. If you stay on mk2 you can only run 4.3 roms but there's a lot of them. If you upgrade then you can run 4.4 roms but there's only a couple right now.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: Verizon
  • PHONE: Samsung S4 HTC One Max
  • CASE: Otterbox Defender modded to fit Anker 7800mah battery HTC PowerFlip
  • BOOTLOADER: MDK, loki bypass S-OFF & Relocked
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.x
  • KERNEL: Ktoonsez with Project Icarus profile and Hydra script FlyKernel
  • ROM: Eclipse TW 4.4 Adrenaline Sense 6
  • LAUNCHER & MODS: Google Now launcher with XGEL settings, GravityBox, Heads Up notifications, & Android L navbar
The Following User Says Thank You to joshm.1219 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crobs808
Old
(Last edited by crobs808; 23rd May 2014 at 05:49 AM.)
#6  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219 View Post
Well it depends. If you stay on mk2 you can only run 4.3 roms but there's a lot of them. If you upgrade then you can run 4.4 roms but there's only a couple right now.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
I definitely want 4.4.x. I found THIS one called PurifieD (port by gogolie) which is supposed to be clean-ish. We'll see: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23487008491966540
-edit-
^ hmm, no mirrors may try Fox and Hound instead:
http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23487008491966537
^ and again...no mirrors.

Is there a consolidated link list of SS-compatible ROMs for the S4, or do I have to hunt and peck through the forum?
n/m - found a list of 4.3 roms, but it looks like I will have to hunt for 4.4 roms individually.

Conclusion: Going to try this rom: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596654
I think I will sleep well tonight (crosses fingers)



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization
 
decaturbob
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 813
Posts: 2,388
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobs808 View Post
I definitely want 4.4.x. I found THIS one called PurifieD (port by gogolie) which is supposed to be clean-ish. We'll see: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23487008491966540
-edit-
^ hmm, no mirrors may try Fox and Hound instead:
http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23487008491966537
^ and again...no mirrors.

Is there a consolidated link list of SS-compatible ROMs for the S4, or do I have to hunt and peck through the forum?
n/m - found a list of 4.3 roms, but it looks like I will have to hunt for 4.4 roms individually.

Conclusion: Going to try this rom: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596654
I think I will sleep well tonight (crosses fingers)
only a handful, so not that hard to locate in dev forum. Until hashcode comes out with a safestrap for verizon that enables rom slot creation for custom rom installs on 4.4 base phones I know many of us are staying clear of kitkat.
good luck
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
 
crobs808
Old
(Last edited by crobs808; 23rd May 2014 at 02:19 PM.)
#8  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
So I have not used Safestrap since my Moto X days a few years back, and I am having problems installing a new ROM. Here are my steps, please tell me if things have changed because I got unexpected results.

1. While running stock NC5 (rooted+SS installed), copied custom ROM (SS-friendly FoxHound port by gigili) and SU over to my internal sdcard (do not have an external as I never needed one for the S3)
2. Booted into SS and created a ROM slot in rom-slot1
3. Gave it the nickname FoxHound
4. Selected that rom-slot to be active, then went into advanced Wipe, and did Data, Cache, System, Dalvik
5. Went back to the Install menu so I could install the new ROM but there were no files. Actually, I found out it wiped my StockRom slot even though I have made the rom-slot1 active. Why?

Anyway, now I am back to a wiped stock NC5 and have to do this all over again. Am I supposed to not do step 4 (wipe) after I create the ROM slot? and Am I supposed to just install the custom rom in the Stock slot?



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization
 
crobs808
Old
#9  
crobs808's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Dec 2007
Ugg forget it. I now tried flashing the custom ROM on the safe side without doing the WIPE step and just got a rom that looked identical to the stock except that DATA was broken. Forget this - I guess I just have to live with stock rooted, and modify/freeze apps.



Purist (less is more) | VZW SGS3 | CM 10.1 | Android Virtualization

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes