Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,470 Members 40,766 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(Q) STUMPED: No Radio Signal or Mobile Network after Unbricking

Tip us?
 
FarRockAmerika
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Service (Q) STUMPED: No Radio Signal or Mobile Network after Unbricking

First, let me say, I appreciate the vast information available on this site. I have found many answers to various problems I have encountered with my GN2 on this site, but I am totally stumped right now. I purchased another VZW GN2 last night and I admit to forgetting that you had tounlock the bootloader prior to flashing a newer firmware via odin. Basically, I ended up bricking the phone and getting the yellow triangle saying there was software not authorized by verizon. I searched and unbricked the phone but now I have a circle with a line through it and I have no mobile connection. I went back to stock firmware vramc3 via odin. I used casual to unlock and root still no signal, ive checked my efs and they are not lost my imei number is still intact. they arent corrupt.(backed them up). I know it was something I did because there wasnt a circle with a line where the bars are supposed to be before i touched the phone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-16-17-09-50.png
Views:	38
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	2747667   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-16-17-09-39 (1).png
Views:	35
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	2747668   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-16-17-11-47.png
Views:	32
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	2747669  
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,276
Posts: 3,192
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LbTs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarRockAmerika View Post
First, let me say, I appreciate the vast information available on this site. I have found many answers to various problems I have encountered with my GN2 on this site, but I am totally stumped right now. I purchased another VZW GN2 last night and I admit to forgetting that you had tounlock the bootloader prior to flashing a newer firmware via odin. Basically, I ended up bricking the phone and getting the yellow triangle saying there was software not authorized by verizon. I searched and unbricked the phone but now I have a circle with a line through it and I have no mobile connection. I went back to stock firmware vramc3 via odin. I used casual to unlock and root still no signal, ive checked my efs and they are not lost my imei number is still intact. they arent corrupt.(backed them up). I know it was something I did because there wasnt a circle with a line where the bars are supposed to be before i touched the phone.


Have you tried just flashing the latest MJ9 firmware with the modem in it? Might kick it on..

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
The Following User Says Thank You to lacoursiere18 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
FarRockAmerika
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
ive done that twice actually and tried 2 different roms still nothing i did access the hidden menu and saw that my prl is 1 idk if that has nything to do with anything.... i used the t0tlevw (idk how you spell it) mj9 official firmware file
 
FarRockAmerika
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Have you tried just flashing the latest MJ9 firmware with the modem in it? Might kick it on..
it also says my ERI version is not available.....idk if that has anything to do with it....ive tried vraljb,vramc3, and mj9.....still have the circle......im starting to think its a corrupt imei.....i mean i still have it but when i accessed the hidden menu and looked at the imei number it only had the hex and not the dec.....i also see that im getting good signal strength.....im stuck trying to figure this out....im moving on to the imei restore now just to make sure.....
 
FarRockAmerika
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
UPDATE: i'VE BEEN PLAYING AROUND IN THE HIDDEN MENU AND I GOT THE PHONE TO GET ON ROAMING AND THE ERI CAME BACK TO 5. NOW I AM TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW I WILL TAKE IT OUT OF ROAMING BUT STILL KEEP THE ERI IN PLACE. I GET BARS NOW AT LEAST. I THINK I MIGHT JUST DO A FACTORY RESET NOW...JUST FOR KICKS ( YOU NEVER KNOW).....I THINK IT IS POSSIBLE TO ALTER THE ERI AND IMEI STUFF THRU THE HIDDEN MENU WITHOUT USING THE COMPUTER. I WILL KEEP UPDATING AS I GO ALONG TODAY. THIS HAS ME GOING THRU IT WITH MY WIFE LOL SHE JUST DOESNT UNDERSTAND....

P.S THE IMEI NUMBER AND OTHER NUMBERS ARE THERE JUST BLACKED OUT FOR SECURITY PURPOSES
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-17-11-40-57 (1).png
Views:	21
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	2748864   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-17-11-40-46.png
Views:	17
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	2748869   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-17-14-45-33.png
Views:	15
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	2748870  
The Following User Says Thank You to FarRockAmerika For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mattnmag
Old
#6  
mattnmag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 148
Join Date: Feb 2013
@ FarRockAmerika,

This may or may not be the same issue ... but I read in other threads that your idea of doing a factory reset could fix the "stuck in roaming" issue. It looks like you should do the factory reset from within the ROM though.... not in recovery. This thread ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2748242 ) has some links that might be relevant with the roaming issue. Good luck.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices:
Verizon Samsung Note II & Sony Xperia Play R800x

Past Devices:
Verizon Samsung S3
Verizon Droid Charge
Asus TF201
 
FarRockAmerika
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattnmag View Post
@ farrockamerika,

this may or may not be the same issue ... But i read in other threads that your idea of doing a factory reset could fix the "stuck in roaming" issue. It looks like you should do the factory reset from within the rom though.... Not in recovery. This thread ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2748242 ) has some links that might be relevant with the roaming issue. Good luck.

Sent from my sch-i605 using xda premium 4 mobile app
lol i found this out the hard way.....it went back to a circle with the line.....i got my dec part of my imei back and my eri without the computer....ill just do some more testing......it wasnt stuck in roaming i put it in roaming in the hidden menu just to see if i get some type of mobile network connection......i will take some more screenshots of the hidden menu and where i went a little later....i just have to make sure...before i post it
 
DB2040
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Default Same problem

I too am having the same problem with my SCH-1605. The difference is that my network connection was screwing up BEFORE I soft bricked the phone and got the triangle (not a tech expert here so please bear with me if my terminology is incorrect). Phone was working great rooted for 6mos and must have updated itself or I just dumbly installed one that screwed the phone up. I tried new sim from verizon (did not work), un-rooting, re-flashing with ODIN with pit and fw as suggested on other posts (for other problems) and did something wrong I forget what , got the triangle thing and then recovered with Kies and every thing supposedly was back to stock. Called Sansung, went to BB service center and they reflashed firmware (same thing I did I am guessing LOL, but I humured the tech line by letting them do it again). They then told me to ship it to them and although it was not under warranty (2nd owner) they would do the full software re flash(??) and check the hardware (I would be responsible for repair and I agreed as long as they contacted me if over 125$). Well I just got the phone shipped back today with a refusal (void in warranty) to repair for rooted device!! I am pissed at this because it was ALREADY a voided warranty repair ticket. ..No contacting me, just ran it through tagged it unrepairable and shipped it back aaaargh!

Anyway, I am hoping the bright minds and technical expertise of the xda members can help us out with this problem.

I was looking at the safestrap and am leery because I have the VRUEAJ9 build and do not see instructions/files for it. (I am newber, but can follow instructions, have been researching for weeks and finally asking for HELP because I am stumped, confused, with little $$ to buy a new phone right now (full-time got cut to part-time thanks to HC issue but thats for another forum!)

Thank you in advance for any help on this issue!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more