OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Sim card randomly dropping out.....? Sim not found...

3rd May 2014, 09:43 PM |#31  
trook's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wildomar Ca
Thanks Meter: 138
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayle007

Same here in San Diego. NO preparing sim card message for 1 full day now. I think it was a network issue. What was interesting is that my phone lost root access when the network went down. I had to reinstall superSu to get root back. Weird.

That's crazy

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Free mobile app
4th May 2014, 05:16 AM |#32  
Napoleones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidkevlar

So all my issues are gone now. Hangouts working correctly too. Think it was a network issue. Were all of u in Cali?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Yeah. I think it's network issue. How many days did it happen?
4th May 2014, 05:55 AM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 877
 
2,842 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleones

Yeah. I think it's network issue. How many days did it happen?

At least 3 days of weirdness for me. I'm now back to getting amazing battery life.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
7th May 2014, 10:40 PM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
1,327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I've been having an issue lately where the Sim card becomes undetectable and I lose all network access til I eject the Sim card and re-insert it. Very annoying and dangerous while driving. It just happened while I was writing this post in fact.

I am uncertain as to why this is happening... I just took a look at the Sim card and noticed it had some smudges on it possibly from the initial install but I did drop the phone once and am wondering if it impacted the Sim card area and it's now fubared... I dunno, hopefully wiping it down good will prevent any future instances but... We'll see. I just put on my tempered glass protector so if I have to get a replacement I'll be pretty unhappy.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
10th May 2014, 02:04 AM |#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
1,327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Follow up: I did have the issue again. I think it's a connection issue with the sim. I took the tray out, physically bent it just a little to angle the tray DOWN in an attempt to improve the contact of the sim with the phone. It seems to have worked as I haven't had an issue since.

The tray is made of a very durable metal so bending it is very hard. The bend I made is not noticeable, but I notice that when inserted it sits slightly different along the edge. That tiny bit of extra pressure connecting the phone with the sim seems to have corrected it.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
23rd May 2014, 11:19 PM |#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Preparing sim card
Hey folks, I just thought I would share my experience even tho my M8 is stock on T-Mobile. I started to randomly get the "preparing sim card" message, often times when downloading multiple updates from Google Play. I read thru all the forums and tried taking out the sim, cleaning it, and putting a thin layer of tape on the top so that it fits more securely in the sim tray slot. This helped for a while and then the problem returned. After reading further forum posts, I disabled the "My.T-Mobile" app and other T-mo related apps; so far this has seemed to fix the issue. Try as I might I have not been able to get the error again (hope I am not jixing myself) I know you guys are Verizon but that they have similar apps... It may be worth a try to disable them and see. I love the phone but the error was really buggin me. Hope this may help someone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes