Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Remove browser bar from settings?

OP mr.wizard

17th May 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I completely despise the fact that there is a menu option for the browser bar.

Short of changing the sku ID ( cuz I like integrated SMS/voicemail ) is there a way to get rid of that in settings?
19th May 2014, 05:46 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,367
 
7,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Try to uninstall the app, or disable it? I noticed it popped up as a Play Store app which I had previously installed (ditched the AT&T stock ROM long ago): https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...er.toolbar.att

If rooted, just find the associated app, and uninstall or freeze with Titanium.

I agree the AT&T Browser Bar is awful. Takes up too much screen real estate (yeah, I know it often hidden, but still annoying as it pops up often) and has functions that are easily performed in other ways. Useless, as most of AT&T's bloat is.
21st May 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #3  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sarasota
Thanks Meter: 104
 
772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Other than flashing a custom Rom, I'm afraid not. I'm stock rooted and uninstalled the app but it's still lingering in the settings menu. Clicking on it after the uninstall does nada

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
21st May 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,367
 
7,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14

Other than flashing a custom Rom, I'm afraid not. I'm stock rooted and uninstalled the app but it's still lingering in the settings menu. Clicking on it after the uninstall does nada

Did you uninstall in Settings, or with Titanium. Try freezing in Titanium.
21st May 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #5  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sarasota
Thanks Meter: 104
 
772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Did you uninstall in Settings, or with Titanium. Try freezing in Titanium.

Pretty sure it's hardcoded in the settings menu. Would be nice if sense toolbox or another xposed module removed it.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
24th May 2014, 07:53 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 771
 
1,570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
it is@hardcoded into settings , it can be disabled from the stock apps in settings though, no need to go through all the freeze this or that or even be rooted
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	disablebrowserbar.png
Views:	68
Size:	102.9 KB
ID:	2760216  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes