FORUMS

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

[Q] HELP phone soft bricked

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Vintage Element, Junior Member on 23rd May 2014, 06:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello Everyone,

This is my situation.... I want Unrooting my Sprint S4 using Mobile Odin .... and now my phone only boots up to the Samsung Logo. On that screen it also says Recovery Booting however it turns off after 10 Secs. I can get my phone into download/odin mode but that is about it. I can not boot into recovery.

I would imagine someone either has experience or expertise on this matter.

PLEASE HELP

Thank you in advance,

V.E.
 
 
24th May 2014, 02:52 AM |#2  
CatFood's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
If possible what bootloader, modem and ROM were/are you on, also do you care about tripping knox (or is it already).
Last edited by CatFood; 24th May 2014 at 02:56 AM.
24th May 2014, 06:11 AM |#3  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,856
 
More
You have to wipe data to get it to boot. This will wipe EVERYTHING on internal memory. Or you could reroot and install install recovery over Odin and boot into recovery and wipe data which will be like wiping to do a clean Install for custom ROM install. Which wknr wipe everything. Once it boots up apply the stock unrooted tar via Odin with a COMPUTER.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
24th May 2014, 07:55 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sign
I HAD Twrp recover... Had CWM recovery... phones acting like it doesn't have custom recovery (pain in my ass.)..... thought i used rom manger to put cwm back on it.

IDK the modem

I was on a Slim ROM (which was giving me problem as well; Great Rom but it just recently kept crashing.)

I already tripped knox forsure ..... and dont care..... i wanted to get it on a stock kernel by unrooting (Wasnt as brillant as I thought)
Don't even know if thats it possible (If it is show me the promise land! I wanted root again so I could get triangle away working on root.

However that is how I got here. So getting my phone operational would be a win, start; challenge accepted!
24th May 2014, 08:09 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Info 2 s4 problems unite
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

You have to wipe data to get it to boot. This will wipe EVERYTHING on internal memory. Or you could reroot and install install recovery over Odin and boot into recovery and wipe data which will be like wiping to do a clean Install for custom ROM install. Which wknr wipe everything. Once it boots up apply the stock unrooted tar via Odin with a COMPUTER.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk



Oh and I dont mind if it deletes the internal memory..... I live on my external brah.
24th May 2014, 08:21 AM |#6  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,856
 
More
Then if your phone is still stuck right now, boot into stock recovery and perform a factory reset and it should boot up. drink up!

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
24th May 2014, 08:47 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
ruh roh.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

Then if your phone is still stuck right now, boot into stock recovery and perform a factory reset and it should boot up. drink up!

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

How would i go about that ? How do i get into stock recovery? (Magical Recovery Combo GIVE ME THE SECRET! :P)

I cant boot into customer recovery mode(Volume UP+ Power +Home.. Combo...phone shuts off when i do that)

I can only get download mode.
24th May 2014, 08:57 AM |#8  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,856
 
More
Its only volume down and power when the phone is shut off.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes