Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,512 Members 42,545 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Going back to stock

Tip us?
 
iKeirNez
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Going back to stock

I have been using the Android Revolution HD ROM for a bit but I would like to go back to the stock HTC Sense ROMs as the Sense 6 update is about to come out in the UK.

I'm kinda new to this and I believe I need to run an RUU to be able to receive OTA updates.

Here is the output from fastboot getvar all:

C:\fastboot>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.25.3263.21
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.19.401.11
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: [REMOVED]
(bootloader) imei: [REMOVED]
(bootloader) meid: [REMOVED]
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4300mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.044s

Also apparently if you installed a custom recovery, it breaks OTA updates, is this true?
 
iKeirNez
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
I used ruu_m7_ul_k44_sense55_mr_htc_europe_4-19-401-9_r_radio_4a-23-3263-28_10-38r-1157-04l_release_353069_signed_2-1 (can't post link) one but it didn't work, I later found out the bootloader had to be locked, so I did that and it worked .

Thanks anyway,
Keir
 
Destr0y3r
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2014
Apparently it's true , but i only know it for my device (moto G) i had to recover the stock firmware and KitKat update for OTAs to work correctly

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Free mobile app
 
iKeirNez
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destr0y3r View Post
Apparently it's true , but i only know it for my device (moto G) i had to recover the stock firmware and KitKat update for OTAs to work correctly

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Free mobile app
Hmm, I could've sworn I had CWM installed when I got the KK 4.3 update. Thanks anyway, it's working now
The Following User Says Thank You to iKeirNez For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Destr0y3r
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2014
The only problem is that by this method of restoring to stock firmware you lost root , but don't fret , your bootloader will be always unlocked if you mess it up.

Enviado desde mi XT1032 mediante Tapatalk
 
iKeirNez
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destr0y3r View Post
The only problem is that by this method of restoring to stock firmware you lost root , but don't fret , your bootloader will be always unlocked if you mess it up.

Enviado desde mi XT1032 mediante Tapatalk
Yeah, I'll probably re-root soon.
 
Destr0y3r
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2014
It's up to you if you root , however i heard that by rooting the device you could possibly lose the ability to install OTAs , idk maybe you could research more about this not sure... Anyways if you root the phone , install xposed framework and GravityBox [KK] Preety awesome if you want to have custom things on your phone.

Enviado desde mi XT1032 mediante Tapatalk
 
iKeirNez
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destr0y3r View Post
It's up to you if you root , however i heard that by rooting the device you could possibly lose the ability to install OTAs , idk maybe you could research more about this not sure... Anyways if you root the phone , install xposed framework and GravityBox [KK] Preety awesome if you want to have custom things on your phone.

Enviado desde mi XT1032 mediante Tapatalk
Okay, thanks. I used xposed on the previous rom, it's pretty nice.
The Following User Says Thank You to iKeirNez For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Destr0y3r
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2014
Thumbs up A pleasure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iKeirNez View Post
Okay, thanks. I used xposed on the previous rom, it's pretty nice.
K! hope i helped you with this going back to stock thread! it was a pleasure to talk with you ahd give you some little and simple tips about a lot of things that i don't know much about...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more