5,815,061 Members 37,383 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC ONE M7 wont boot. Only fastboot mode...

Tip us?
 
frischeis
Old
(Last edited by frischeis; 23rd May 2014 at 02:17 PM.)
#1  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default [Q] HTC ONE M7 wont boot. Only fastboot mode...

Hello,
i got a htc one m7.
When i turned the device on i see only the bootloader.
See picture.
Also i get some information with squabbi toolkit.
See picture.

Can i restore to stock or is the device completly bricked?
I read a lot of posts and threads but i cannot found a solution.
The bootloader was unlocked but i locked them because i want to install a RUU.
But i doestn found the right RUU for my device.
I flashed allready a RUU called 4.19.401.9 but it failed with error 158.

Can anybody help me?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140523_150028.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	261.6 KB
ID:	2759090   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140523_150052.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	255.0 KB
ID:	2759091  
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,110
Posts: 2,866
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by frischeis View Post
Hello,
i got a htc one m7.
When i turned the device on i see only the bootloader.
See picture.
Also i get some information with squabbi toolkit.
See picture.

Can i restore to stock or is the device completly bricked?
I read a lot of posts and threads but i cannot found a solution.
The bootloader was unlocked but i locked them because i want to install a RUU.
But i doestn found the right RUU for my device.
I flashed allready a RUU called 4.19.401.9 but it failed with error 158.

Can anybody help me?
was the RUU signed or decrypted? have you checked MD5 value before flashing?
Try this one
MD5: 9ad4111ce86981e3dffcce6d9ee80551
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frischeis
Old
#3  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
was the RUU signed or decrypted? have you checked MD5 value before flashing?
Try this one
MD5: 9ad4111ce86981e3dffcce6d9ee80551

Thanks for quick reply!!

The big problem is that i dont have always internet for downloading and the download speed isn`t cool......grrrrr.

But i give that a try if i connected. I dont have check MD5 .


Ist this the only way to wake up my phone flash a RUU?

Or gives other solutions?
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8
 
alray
Old
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,110
Posts: 2,866
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by frischeis View Post
Thanks for quick reply!!
The big problem is that i dont have always internet for downloading and the download speed isn`t cool......grrrrr.
But i give that a try if i connected. I dont have check MD5 .
Always check MD5!! especially if you don't have a good internet connection!

Quote:
Ist this the only way to wake up my phone flash a RUU?

Or gives other solutions?
you could flash a custom rom

What did you do with the phone before it got stuck in bootloader? have you tried do erase cache and rebooting?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frischeis
Old
#5  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
Always check MD5!! especially if you don't have a good internet connection!


you could flash a custom rom

What did you do with the phone before it got stuck in bootloader? have you tried do erase cache and rebooting?

Before i relock i can load a cwm recovery.

In the recovery i try everything: cache,data,system wipe - factory reset (failed and reload everytime) - try via sideload to install a custom rom (loading the file to device but cannot install...)

After that i read more about the device and i want back to clean stock......but now the only working is fastboot mode to managed the device via PC.

One thing i wont to try was the install a nandroid backup via OTG cable....but this works only in a recovery - right?

It would be nice to unlock the bootloader again so that i came back to recovery...but how?
The fastboot command " fastboot oem unlock" wont work...command error???!!!!!
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8
 
alray
Old
#6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,110
Posts: 2,866
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by frischeis View Post
Before i relock i can load a cwm recovery.
Better to use TWRP 2.6.3.3 not CWM, some roms can't be flashed correctly with CWM.

Quote:
In the recovery i try everything: cache,data,system wipe - factory reset (failed and reload everytime) - try via sideload to install a custom rom (loading the file to device but cannot install...)
If you wiped /system, then there is nothing to factory reset
What custom rom exactly?

Quote:
After that i read more about the device and i want back to clean stock......
SO use to RUU method

Quote:
but now the only working is fastboot mode to managed the device via PC.
normal, only fastboot from bootloader, and ADB from recovery or from booted OS.

Quote:
One thing i wont to try was the install a nandroid backup via OTG cable....
but this works only in a recovery - right?
THis might be an option if you find a anandroid backup for your version.

Quote:
but this works only in a recovery - right?
right, if you use a twrp nandroid, restore it using twrp. If you use a CWM nandroid, restore using CWM.

Quote:
It would be nice to unlock the bootloader again so that i came back to recovery...but how?
The fastboot command " fastboot oem unlock" wont work...command error???!!!!!
fastboot oem unlock can't be used on your phone version, you must use HTCdev.com if you want to unlock the bootloader.


Have you finally checked MD5 value of your ruu?
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frischeis
Old
#7  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
Many many thanks for your detailed reply!!!!


The MD5 of the first RUU was okay.
It still does not work. Wrong imaging ....

Meanwhile, I have downloaded another: "RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.7_Radio_4A.13 .3231.27_10.31.11.31.05_release_310878_signed".
I try to install but during the prozess comes a message: wrong bootloader........ grrrrrr

Now i will dowload your recommendation on post two today or tomorrow and give that a try....i hope this RUU work...
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8
 
alray
Old
#8  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,110
Posts: 2,866
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by frischeis View Post
Meanwhile, I have downloaded another: "RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.7_Radio_4A.13.3231.27_10.31.11.31.05_release_310878 _signed".
I try to install but during the prozess comes a message: wrong bootloader........ grrrrrr
1.28.401.7 is a downgrade and you can't downgrade with S-ON, you must use a ruu same or higher version installed on your phone (1.29.401.10 +)
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frischeis
Old
#9  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
So,
i downloaded your recommendation:
"RUU M7 UL K44 SENSE55 MR HTC Europe 4.19.401.9 R Radio 4A.23.3263.28 10.38r.1157.04L Release 353069 Signed 2-1"
and try to install but i get imaging error.
The phone shows the silver htc logo and aborted during pushing the files to the device with this imaging error message.....

MD5 matched!

Is this also the wrong RUU??

Somehow I can not get to the target Very disappointing ...

Any ideas?




I get the unlock code from htcdev.com.
Better work with unlocked device (recovery, sideload, nandroid backup option via OTG cable)???
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8
 
frischeis
Old
(Last edited by frischeis; 24th May 2014 at 06:56 PM.)
#10  
frischeis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2013
I have solved the problem:

That's what I did:

Unlock the bootloader via htcdev.com.
Get the cwm recovery back .
Flash the current cwm recovery via fastboot (my recovery was a little bit outdated).
Flash via sideload cm11 Rom.
Device booting until the bootanimation
Back to recovery do all the wipe stuff.
And yes i have fully working device now
Great!

But unfortunately I have not a RUU to get back to the factory defaults ....

But there are still a few RUU or nandroid backups that I can try ...
Nexus 5
CM11 _ 4.4.4
____________________________

Acer Iconia A501 16GB
Tegraowners KitKat 4.4.2 - V8

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes