Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,482 Members 53,549 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is it possible to make app that adapts to phone hardware?

Tip us?
 
xorg23
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Phone Is it possible to make app that adapts to phone hardware?

Hi there.

I have one question - I'm starting to learn android development and I want to know one thing - can I write app that will adapt to phone on which is installed? I mean - for example - app will use wifi, gps and ringtone to give me location of a phone. If phone has gps - it will use gps. If not - it will switch to wifi. If phone is old and has no wifi or gps it will ring. I want detect it automaticaly beacuse app will be installed on different models and by users that know nothing about device so it must be done inside of app and not by user.
 
arpitkh96
Old
#2  
arpitkh96's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,085
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: panipat
Quote:
Originally Posted by xorg23 View Post
Hi there.

I have one question - I'm starting to learn android development and I want to know one thing - can I write app that will adapt to phone on which is installed? I mean - for example - app will use wifi, gps and ringtone to give me location of a phone. If phone has gps - it will use gps. If not - it will switch to wifi. If phone is old and has no wifi or gps it will ring. I want detect it automaticaly beacuse app will be installed on different models and by users that know nothing about device so it must be done inside of app and not by user.
Yes it is possible. but I dont remember any phone without WiFi,gps .every device have them

Sent from my GT-S5570 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
xorg23
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpitkh96 View Post
Yes it is possible. but I dont remember any phone without WiFi,gps .every device have them

Sent from my GT-S5570 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
That was example. I need to write an app that will switch from one option of communication to another is one of them is not avaible (no signal or simply is not supported) or simply to conserve battery.
 
arpitkh96
Old
#4  
arpitkh96's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,085
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: panipat
Quote:
Originally Posted by xorg23 View Post
That was example. I need to write an app that will switch from one option of communication to another is one of them is not avaible (no signal or simply is not supported) or simply to conserve battery.
Again yes its possible .Google maps do this.it prompts to switch on WiFi or GPS etc for location accuracy

Sent from my GT-S5570 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
krypdon
Old
#5  
krypdon's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Yes! That is possible and most apps are designed in this fashion.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
GalaxyInABox
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 185
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bonn
This: http://developer.android.com/referen...va.lang.String) is what you want to use, amd here are the possible features you can pass/ask for: http://developer.android.com/guide/t...ures-reference . Keep in mind that you still need to have the matching permission.

Gesendet von meinem SM-N9005 mit Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to GalaxyInABox For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more