FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Right Approach for KK from JB

100 posts
Thanks Meter: 8
 
By jfreak27, Senior Member on 24th May 2014, 10:52 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I was on Aosp 4.4, but due to some reason i had to restore back to stock. Now I'm unrooted and have cwm backup of aosp 4.4.
will following be my right approach to return back to aosp?
1) Root using Shaans method
2) Flash cocore with cwm using ukf
3) restore my aosp 4.4 cwm backup

OR
Should i flash aosp rom from step 2 and then restore backup?
 
 
24th May 2014, 01:30 PM |#2  
TPD-21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern Borneo Island
Thanks Meter: 527
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfreak27

I was on Aosp 4.4, but due to some reason i had to restore back to stock. Now I'm unrooted and have cwm backup of aosp 4.4.
will following be my right approach to return back to aosp?
1) Root using Shaans method
2) Flash cocore with cwm using ukf
3) restore my aosp 4.4 cwm backup

OR
Should i flash aosp rom from step 2 and then restore backup?

I guess you could use the method 2 by Frapeti. Due besides you get cocore kernel, cwm already be installed automatically.

Then flash the ROM AOSP yours, enter cwm and restore your previous AOSP ROM through CWM.

FAQ:
Does it increase binary counter? No
Do I need to be rooted? Yes, of course.
The Following User Says Thank You to TPD-21 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TPD-21 Ad-Free
24th May 2014, 04:30 PM |#3  
shut_down's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 3,569
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfreak27

I was on Aosp 4.4, but due to some reason i had to restore back to stock. Now I'm unrooted and have cwm backup of aosp 4.4.
will following be my right approach to return back to aosp?
1) Root using Shaans method
2) Flash cocore with cwm using ukf
3) restore my aosp 4.4 cwm backup

OR
Should i flash aosp rom from step 2 and then restore backup?

I think that you should install AOSP again, the same way you did first time. Then go to recovery and restore backup. On 4.4 based ROMs we have swap on preload partition. And that partition is partitioned in differend format from the one when you are on stock. So it might be a problem.

Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to shut_down For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shut_down Ad-Free
25th May 2014, 02:10 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Nagpur
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shut_down

I think that you should install AOSP again, the same way you did first time. Then go to recovery and restore backup. On 4.4 based ROMs we have swap on preload partition. And that partition is partitioned in differend format from the one when you are on stock. So it might be a problem.

Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk

Flashed the backup directly from 4.1.2....
Good to have be smooth-as-hell AOSP back!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes