Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,489 Members 45,329 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Dewpoint

Tip us?
 
robgross
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Default [Q] Dewpoint

I am trying to figure out how to calculate dewpoint from temperature and humidity. The formula is ridiculously long, but there is a simple formula that gives an approximation, which is good enough for my purposes.

Td = T - ((100 - RH)/5).

Td = Dewpoint in degrees Celcius
T = Temperature in degrees Celcius
RH = Humidity

Since my phone is in degrees F. I had to convert to degrees C. This is what I did, but it doesn't work, I think because of the % symbol attached to the humidity variable: $int((#WCTEMP#-32)*5/9))-(100-#WCHUM#)/5)$. The problem is, it just displays exactly what I typed, it doesn't do the math. Can anyone point a noob in the right direction? It is probably obvious, but I am still trying to figure out zooper.

I have seen other requests for a dewpoint variable on the forums, so there is a demand out there. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
 
MrBiggzz
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Indianapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Do you own Tasker?

You could do an https get on yahoo weather api and get all the info from there.

Its not to terribly difficult. Probably on the intermediate level.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to MrBiggzz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robgross
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
I was just considering purchasing that tonight. I will give that a shot! Thanks Mr Biggzz


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBiggzz View Post
Do you own Tasker?

You could do an https get on yahoo weather api and get all the info from there.

Its not to terribly difficult. Probably on the intermediate level.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
MrBiggzz
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Indianapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Its a great app!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to MrBiggzz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrBiggzz
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Indianapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
@robgross how are you making out?
 
robgross
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBiggzz View Post
@robgross how are you making out?
I downloaded Tasker but haven't had time to learn it yet...but I will! I do know that ZW sees #WCHUM# as text, so it will not formulate it. I tried using #WCHUMN# to see if it would dispay the value as a number, as #WCTEMPN# does...but that didnt work. Thanks for following up!
 
MrBiggzz
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Indianapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Christmas in May!

Dave Handler shares a file with you, please click the link to download: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/1/v...eather.prj.xml

In it are two tasks Input Zip code which uses a scene to well, get the zip!

The other task is Get Yahoo Weather. That uses a variable that gets set when you set the zip code.

Set your zip and the run the weather task and then check the variables tabs. You'll see every thing that is supplied including the five day forecast.

You'll have to figure what you want and pass it on to Zooper. Every variable for weather is global!

Enjoy!

p.s. everything is in standard units. Fahrenheit, mph and inches. This only thing I didn't do is give you an indicator if the barometric pressure is falling, stable or rising. If you need it I can put it in there!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to MrBiggzz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robgross
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Mr. Biggs, thanks for this, but I can't seem to open this link, it says it's not valid both in Tasker and a browser.
 
robgross
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBiggzz View Post
@robgross how are you making out?
MrBiggzz, I figured out how to use Tasker! It's a lot easier to use than I thought, and the possibilities are endless. Thanks for the tip!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes