Post Reply

Noob Back to Stock Question

OP tbattisti

17th February 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Ok, so I have searched, but there's a ton of info and some of it seemed a little conflicting.

I need to return my S3 back to stock and reset the flash counter for a warranty return. I'm running CM10 and have CWM installed. I found this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1904099

Is this the easiest and safest way to go?

I do not have the knox warranty void when I booted into download mode.

Can I just download the MD5 or MB1 file, boot into CWM and flash it? Which one should I download? Does it matter if I flash from internal or SD card?

Thanks in advance for any help!
17th February 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Little Rock
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Yes you can flash this from cwm.. It shouldn't make a difference if you put it on the internal or external sd, I typically prefer external so if I format the internal sd and for what ever reason I end up needing to flash this again I am not having to wait on another download of the stock package

Sent from my MB886 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th February 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TELE-FLASH

Yes you can flash this from cwm.. It shouldn't make a difference if you put it on the internal or external sd, I typically prefer external so if I format the internal sd and for what ever reason I end up needing to flash this again I am not having to wait on another download of the stock package

Sent from my MB886 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Great, thanks! And this will get me back to stock, 100%, no way for BB to tell I've had it rooted?

Which file should I flash, MD5 or MB1?
18th February 2014, 05:39 AM   |  #4  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,625
 
9,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbattisti

Great, thanks! And this will get me back to stock, 100%, no way for BB to tell I've had it rooted?

Which file should I flash, MD5 or MB1?

Yes
24th February 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Little Rock
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
flash this
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbattisti

Great, thanks! And this will get me back to stock, 100%, no way for BB to tell I've had it rooted?

Which file should I flash, MD5 or MB1?



I would flash the NEW MD4 WITH COUNT RESET 16gb ONLY
MD4 MD5- 4a1d2bcd0f3ea0e5b41fb4d91fb7802b

or

NEW MD4 WITH COUNT RESET 32gb ONLY
MD4 MD5- 4e0d0b2c8121aaa059384cd8c520d7ac

which ever is appropriate for your device
25th May 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #6  
Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 12
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Are these same results achievable through odin?
I am completely unable to use my screen but it has to be doable since you can get into download mode with the hardkeys on the phone...

Mine was dropped from 4 stories. It will boot recieve calls and all the rest but the screen is fubar. I'm curious if it is a screen issue, will they even check software?
25th May 2014, 09:19 PM   |  #7  
roirraW "edor" ehT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus, OH
Thanks Meter: 1,754
 
3,385 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
You should always assume they'll check whether it's rooted.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes