Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] No mobile data after Kit Kat 4.4.2 update

OP Urbason

24th May 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hello,
just found this forum and hope to find help with my problem.
I received an OTA update from Jelly Bean to Kit Kat 4.4.2 three day ago.
I bought the phone in US but use it in Germany.
No problem for over a year with Jelly Bean.
Since the update the mobile data connection is not working.
I reset the phone to factory settings, mobile data is activated, APN is entered.
No connection.
WiFi works so far, but it seems from time to time it switches off by itself.
I need the mobile connection, otherwise the phone is useless for me.
Is there a possibility to flash it with Jelly Bean, or to get somewhere a Kit Kat version not Verizon based.

If I can't get it to work, it seems I need to get a new phone.
Any help or suggestion is highly appreciated.
Thanks
Urb
24th May 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Ffm
Thanks Meter: 16
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Hi there,

have you tried changing your network mode in mobille network settings?
I tried the kitkat update and had mobile data availiable in germany.
Next question would be, is your device locked or unlocked? If you have an unlocked device you could simply downgrade as I did.

Best regards
24th May 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Phone No mobile data after Kit Kat 4.4.2 update
Thanks for your answer.

Yes I tried to change through different network setting to no avail.
I used this phone for 1,5 years in Germany without a problem, until the upgrade to kitkat 4.4.2
I am not sure what you mean by locked/unlocked.
It's open for all network operators.

How can I downgrade the phone?

Maybe the OTE upgrade was faulty. It seems I can not use WIfi and Bluetooth at the same time, another bug?
I would try to install the system a second time, if thats possible.
It would be a shame to kick the phone, I was quite fond of it until this whole mess started.

Thanks
Urb
24th May 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Ffm
Thanks Meter: 16
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Please do the following so I can be sure if you are locked or unlocked:
1.) Power off your phone
2.) Power on your phone by pressing the power button and the volume up button simultaneously - you should be in a menu
3.) Press the volume down key twice and then once up
Now you are in the AP fastboot-mode. There you should find someting like "Device Status". It will read either locked or unlocked with a number.
If you are locked the only option you have is to stick on that firmware, but as far as I know you can reflash the entire kitkat update.
http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...to-kitkat-ota/
Follow this step by step.Please read carefully and double check every step.

Best regards
25th May 2014, 01:51 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Phone Thanks
I checked, it's locked.
I will try the link you recommended. As it seems the only way, I am not sure if it will work anyway. Just my suspicion that the OTA download was faulty.

Cheers
Urb
25th May 2014, 02:34 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Ffm
Thanks Meter: 16
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I hope you can get it to work properly again :thumbup:

Sent from my Droid RAZR MAXX HD using XDA Free mobile app
25th May 2014, 10:36 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Phone Thanks for the support
Hi,
thanks for the link, I was scared to start the whole process, so I decided to check if another sim card would have similar problems.
It turned out, another sim card worked just fine.
I started to realize that it must be a UIE, or at least a partial one.
So I remembered that my current sim card, which has been working 1,5 years without fault, used to work beforehand in a Blackberry 9800.
So I guess the KitKat update somehow blocked the services, phoned the service provider, and they switched off the BB services in their system, since then the dataflow is ok, and I can enjoy my Droid. No need for replacement.))
But I will keep the link for future reference.
Thanks again for the support.
Cheers
Urb
25th May 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Ffm
Thanks Meter: 16
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Glad to hear that everything is working fine now.
Enjoy your Droid

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes