Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,382 Members 46,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Disable HTC M7 capacitive buttons?

Tip us?
 
ShaheenXE
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 72
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Default Disable HTC M7 capacitive buttons?

Hey guys, is there any easy way to disable the M7s capacitive buttons? As I'm using the onscreen keys. P.S I'm using ViperOne 6.1.0.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399160890440.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	2724230  
 
ZeroInfinity
Old
#2  
ZeroInfinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8,090
Posts: 3,467
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brighton & Hove

 
DONATE TO ME
So you want to completely disable all function of capacitive buttons?

If so, using a file explorer (I recommend ES File Explorer), navigate to /system/usr/keylayout and find two files named "himax-touchscreen.kl" and "snyaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl"

open up those files as text and put a hash symbol (#) to every line of those files

Example, in himax-touchscreen.kl, it should look like this in the end:

Code:
#key 102 HOME
#key 158 BACK
Save it and do the same for the other file. Reboot and the capacitive buttons should stop functioning now. If you want to get the capacitive buttons back, just remove the # symbols on those files and reboot

Project ERA (HTC One/One Dual SIM/One (M8)/One Max/Butterfly S/Butterfly/Droid DNA)

The truth about audio libraries


My Device: HTC One (M7_UL)
ROM: MaximusHD 44.0.0 (Android 4.4.3 | Sense 6.0 | 6.09.401.5)
Kernel: Kangeroo Kernel kk027_443
Misc: S-OFF/Unlocked Bootloader


Don't like my response? Read this.


 



The Following User Says Thank You to ZeroInfinity For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ShaheenXE
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 72
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Hey, I tried to do this method but, it just wouldn't save and also I couldn't find the himax file, I have enabled show hidden files, help would be appreciated

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
 
ShaheenXE
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 72
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399205755431.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	2724928  
 
ZeroInfinity
Old
(Last edited by ZeroInfinity; 4th May 2014 at 01:37 PM.)
#5  
ZeroInfinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8,090
Posts: 3,467
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brighton & Hove

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you mount system?

Enable root mode in ES File Explorer and mount system first, then do the edits

EDIT: What ROM are you on? If you can't find himax-touchscreen, skip that and just do the synaptics one and report back if it worked

Also, is that what your snyaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl shows by default? It looks like you just copied and pasted the stuff I written before If so, you don't need to copy/paste, just add the "#" symbol in front of every line

Project ERA (HTC One/One Dual SIM/One (M8)/One Max/Butterfly S/Butterfly/Droid DNA)

The truth about audio libraries


My Device: HTC One (M7_UL)
ROM: MaximusHD 44.0.0 (Android 4.4.3 | Sense 6.0 | 6.09.401.5)
Kernel: Kangeroo Kernel kk027_443
Misc: S-OFF/Unlocked Bootloader


Don't like my response? Read this.


 



The Following User Says Thank You to ZeroInfinity For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ShaheenXE
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 72
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
It worked thanks for the help

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
 
gordonpn
Old
(Last edited by gordonpn; 26th May 2014 at 01:55 AM.)
#7  
gordonpn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 258
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaheenXE View Post
Hey guys, is there any easy way to disable the M7s capacitive buttons? As I'm using the onscreen keys. P.S I'm using ViperOne 6.1.0.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Are the onscreen buttons a feature of ViperOne? Do they work well?

Edit: Nevermind, I answered my own question by trying it out myself.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more

Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more

Create Your Own Launcher with HTMLauncher

There are hundreds of launcher replacement applications available for Android. Most of them are … more

First ROMs Appear for the Nvidia Shield Tablet

TheNvidia Shield Tablethas only been available for a little over a month. In that short time, … more