Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Replace the touchwiz settings app with standard?

OP cm0002

25th May 2014, 07:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hello all,
I was wondering if it was at all possible to replace the severely annoying touchwiz settings app with the standard settings app found on aosp roms and the like, this touchwiz version is one of my biggest irks with this phone and if I can replace it would mean a much easier time waiting for an aosp rom
25th May 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #2  
D33KK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 76
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
No you can't,

You are gonna have to wait for one of the aosp ROMs to be completed, sorry.
Keep an eye on Galaxy S5 original android development.

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Free mobile app
25th May 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #3  
Truckin'Ain't4Sissies's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PDX
Thanks Meter: 95
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Once the Google edition drops then we'll get the chance to rid ourselves of touchwiz. I absolutely can't wait, coming from a Nexus4.

TA4S on my Galaxy S5
26th May 2014, 02:04 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by declan8888

No you can't,

You are gonna have to wait for one of the aosp ROMs to be completed, sorry.
Keep an eye on Galaxy S5 original android development.

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Free mobile app

Forgive my asking, but why is it such an impossible or difficult thing to do? I was under the impression that the settings app just linked various settings components together and that they were not all actually contained within.
26th May 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #5  
Truckin'Ain't4Sissies's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PDX
Thanks Meter: 95
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cm0002

Forgive my asking, but why is it such an impossible or difficult thing to do? I was under the impression that the settings app just linked various settings components together and that they were not all actually contained within.

The settings is built into the Framework.res/other integral system apps and cannot simply be swapped out.

TA4S on my Galaxy S5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes