Post Reply

New T-mo customer, slow data speed!

OP agkelos

26th May 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Ok, so Im a new T-mo convert and I picked the S5 and prepaid unlimited everything ($80) plan. Im in the San Juan area in PR.

Ive been getting horrible data speeds <1Mbps since day one on the phone. The curious thing is that from 2 am to 6 am for (6 days straight now) speeds jumps to 15Mbps or higher. As soon as 6am ticks I'm back to Edge speeds. What is even weirder is that I swapped the sim card to my Note and started hitting 17Mbps or higher at any time.

I tried the new modem and it didnt work either. I also tried changing APNs to different values and going wcdma mode only and none work. I contacted customer support a few days agoand they said they would fix it but they havent. Since I'm on the 14 day thing, I think I may just return it.

Anyone with similar experience or know what could be going on?
26th May 2014, 07:44 AM   |  #2  
jjlean's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs, CO
Thanks Meter: 106
 
1,061 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agkelos

Ok, so Im a new T-mo convert and I picked the S5 and prepaid unlimited everything ($80) plan. Im in the San Juan area in PR.

Ive been getting horrible data speeds <1Mbps since day one on the phone. The curious thing is that from 2 am to 6 am for (6 days straight now) speeds jumps to 15Mbps or higher. As soon as 6am ticks I'm back to Edge speeds. What is even weirder is that I swapped the sim card to my Note and started hitting 17Mbps or higher at any time.

I tried the new modem and it didnt work either. I also tried changing APNs to different values and going wcdma mode only and none work. I contacted customer support a few days agoand they said they would fix it but they havent. Since I'm on the 14 day thing, I think I may just return it.

Anyone with similar experience or know what could be going on?

Are you using the SIM that came with your new phone?

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Free mobile app
26th May 2014, 07:47 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
I am. With that sim on the S5 I get no data or edge speeds when I do get data,except from 2 am to 6 am which I get LTE speeds.

With that same simcard I get LTE speeds on my Note at all times.
26th May 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by agkelos

I am. With that sim on the S5 I get no data or edge speeds when I do get data,except from 2 am to 6 am which I get LTE speeds.

With that same simcard I get LTE speeds on my Note at all times.

Return it and ask for a new one, I live in Caguas but I work on San Juan, and besides when I'm at the office, where all providers have the same signal issue, I have normal Data Speeds.

I must say that when I'm at home in Caguas, I get great LTE Speeds but in San Juan I have noticed that using 4G instead of LTE gives better download speeds, but from that to the issue you are describing is a great difference, that's why I'd suggest you get a new one during the 14 days.
26th May 2014, 08:35 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by erasat

Return it and ask for a new one, I live in Caguas but I work on San Juan, and besides when I'm at the office, where all providers have the same signal issue, I have normal Data Speeds.

I must say that when I'm at home in Caguas, I get great LTE Speeds but in San Juan I have noticed that using 4G instead of LTE gives better download speeds, but from that to the issue you are describing is a great difference, that's why I'd suggest you get a new one during the 14 days.

Thanks, I think I may do just that. Especially now that I know you are nearby and have no problems.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank