Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] [Acro S] Flashing from Original 4.1 to 4.4

OP hawk20

26th May 2014, 07:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Sorry for maybe a silly question... but don't know how to go on...

Tried the instructions I found but had no success.

First of all I rooted it with Flashtool => Works
Than I installed CWM => Works
Copied 4.4.2 Beanstalk Rom and Gapps ins CWM folder on SD Card
Booted into CWM, formated everything, installed both zips, restarted => Black => no start => no possiblity to boot in cwm.
Flashed Original Stock rom with Flashtool again => Phone lives again.

Tried a second time => same results....

Where is my failure? Is there an other option to flash from 4.1 to 4.4 than CWM? Do I have to flash Kernel seperatly?

Many thanks in advance.
26th May 2014, 08:42 AM   |  #2  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,446
 
3,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
no kernel and rom can be flashed together

make sure you wipe your data, dalvik, and cache

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th May 2014, 08:47 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Envious_Data

no kernel and rom can be flashed together

make sure you wipe your data, dalvik, and cache

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I wiped data / made factory reset... than installed 4.4.2 Beanstalk rom and than gapps....
26th May 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #4  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,446
 
3,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk20

I wiped data / made factory reset... than installed 4.4.2 Beanstalk rom and than gapps....

its probably the rom then
ive found that rarely a rom wont work with a spesific device although being exactly the same as every other one like its kind

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th May 2014, 11:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
do I have to unlock bootloader?
Only made root with the change of kernels as per instruction... but no separate unlock of bootloader? Is this maybe the failure?
26th May 2014, 11:39 AM   |  #6  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,446
 
3,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk20

do I have to unlock bootloader?
Only made root with the change of kernels as per instruction... but no separate unlock of bootloader? Is this maybe the failure?

yes, you have to unlock your bootloader
i had expected you to have done already



Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Envious_Data For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th May 2014, 11:49 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
me too.... till I found this instructions

wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_hikari

So step by step the way is:

Root Phone with Flashtool

Unclock the phone this way: wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_hikari
(Is unlock also possible with flashtool?)

Install CWM.
Boot into CWM
Format Data
Install Rom
Install Gapps.

Correct?
26th May 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #8  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,446
 
3,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk20

me too.... till I found this instructions

wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_hikari

So step by step the way is:

Root Phone with Flashtool

Unclock the phone this way: wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_hikari
(Is unlock also possible with flashtool?)

Install CWM.
Boot into CWM
Format Data
Install Rom
Install Gapps.

Correct?

unlock your bootloader via flashtool

those install instructions are correct

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes