Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,279 Members 52,182 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

N00B inquiry

Tip us?
 
jtsdad8462
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Default N00B inquiry

Im rooted on 4.4 stock. I am not happy with KK and was wanting to downgrade to either 4.3 or earlier

Ive searched, and cant find a definitive answer that im comfortable enough with to proceed, so I'll ask bluntly

Is it safe to downgrade from 4.4 to an earlier version if i use a stock TAR and Odin? Will I have modem issues if I do?

If I can, which is less problematic? 4.3? 4.1?
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
#2  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Absolutely not. Flashing through ODIN will flash a bootloader, as well. Flashing bootloaders that are older than the one you're currently on will cause Knox to run the killswitch in your device.

In other words, you'll be the proud owner of a very expensive paperweight.

It would be better to flash a rooted stock zip of an older TouchWiz ROM through recovery. That way it won't overwrite your bootloader.

Never mess with a Knox infected bootloader.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
The Following User Says Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jacknmary
Old
#3  
jacknmary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boyce, Va
Thanks for your help!

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
#4  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Of course, when you went to 4.4, did you take the OTA? You should be sure that do you, in fact, have Knox.

If you go into download mode by holding the power+home+vol down buttons, you should no longer see a flash counter.

Rather it would read like 0x0 or 0x1.

If you don't have a Knox bootloader, then you can ODIN to an older version. Just make sure what you're flashing does not contain a Knox bootloader.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/att...p_-300x224.jpg


Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
The Following User Says Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jacknmary
Old
#5  
jacknmary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boyce, Va
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgs_Boson View Post
Of course, when you went to 4.4, did you take the OTA? You should be sure that do you, in fact, have Knox.

If you go into download mode by holding the power+home+vol down buttons, you should no longer see a flash counter.

Rather it would read like 0x0 or 0x1.

If you don't have a Knox bootloader, then you can ODIN to an older version. Just make sure what you're flashing does not contain a Knox bootloader.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/att...p_-300x224.jpg


Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
I used ODIN to flash 4.4

My whole issue is that the modem on 4.4 sucks as does the battery life. I was wanting to flash something less crappy

---------- Post added at 07:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:29 PM ----------

I found this:
http://techbeasts.com/2014/01/17/how...note-2-note-3/

Havent tried it, not sure if its any good.
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
#6  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Just go into your download/Odin mode and compare your screen with the picture in my previous post. If you see Knox, then proceed with caution.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
The Following User Says Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jacknmary
Old
#7  
jacknmary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boyce, Va
Will do. Thanks again! Very much appreciated

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:57 PM ----------

Here's what I've got:
Odin Mode
Product name sph l710
Current binary: custom
System Status: custom
Qualcomm secure boot: enable
Warranty Bit 1 (red text)
Bootloader ap swrev 2

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 
roirraW "edor" ehT
Old
#8  
roirraW "edor" ehT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,729
Posts: 3,364
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbus, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacknmary View Post
Knox for 4.4 is more resilient than for 4.3. The information at that link only applies to 4.3.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jacknmary View Post
Qualcomm secure boot: enable
Warranty Bit 1 (red text)
Bootloader ap swrev 2
If you're on TouchWiz KitKat, whether through Odin or OTA, you've got Knox, so no doubt.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.
The Following User Says Thank You to roirraW "edor" ehT For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
(Last edited by Higgs_Boson; 26th May 2014 at 08:18 AM.)
#9  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
In addition to Rode Warrior's post, once you're on the ND8 bootloader and modem, you're stuck with them. Trying to revert back to older modems/bootloaders will break the radio/hard brick.

You can still flash ROMs. That may help battery life. But, they will have to use the ND8 modem.

Also, the "Warranty Bit 1" in red text signifies that you are Knox'ed up. Join the club.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
The Following User Says Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jacknmary
Old
#10  
jacknmary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boyce, Va
Its nice to utilize a forum where the replies arent snide or condescending!

Thank you both for your insight!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jacknmary For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes