Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 53,046 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How speedy is WiFi on Note Pro 12.2?

Tip us?
 
camspy
Old
#1  
camspy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vilnius
Default How speedy is WiFi on Note Pro 12.2?

So, I have got speedy fiber internet here now and I was keen to see how it slays on my Note Pro, however, it didn't really blown me away, since I was stating around 60-80mbps speed only. My connection is 450mbps MAX on WiFi, so I think it is theoretic speed of my wifi router, so well, something like 200mbps could be possible to achieve.

So, how speedy is WIFI of Note Pro? Any ways to make it even faster?
 
camspy
Old
#2  
camspy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vilnius
Anyone?
Note Pro's WiFi is documented to be AC, so it should be able to push a lot...
 
omegafiler
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 102
Join Date: Dec 2010
Well, even with the best circumstances, you're never likely to see 200Mb/s, let alone 450Mb/s. There are a lot of factors that explain why you'll never get close to theoretical advertised speeds. Overhead, interference, distance, duplex, access point performance, band, etc. Or yeah, the tablet could always be the bottleneck.

I assume you have an AC router? But are you also on 5GHz or 2.4? That can make a huge difference. How far from the AP are you? Have you tried changing channels?
 
camspy
Old
#4  
camspy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vilnius
I don't yet use AC, just N and 5ghz. With my laptop, 1m from router I am hitting close to 180mbps,, with tablet - the same 70-90mbps, twice less...
 
dodo99x
Old
#5  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 280
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa
Always around 270-300mbps when in the same room as my Linksys E2000 router

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
 
camspy
Old
#6  
camspy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vilnius
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo99x View Post
Always around 270-300mbps when in the same room as my Linksys E2000 router
weird, my router is also N stanard, but I can't reach 100mbps
 
dodo99x
Old
#7  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 280
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa
There are different types of N. N150, N300, N450 it all depends how many antennas are used. (MIMO)

Try a different 5ghz channel on your router.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
 
camspy
Old
#8  
camspy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vilnius
My router is http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/e1200
With laptop I can push 200mbps, so it is not the router who isn't capable....

Which 5ghz channel are you on?
 
dodo99x
Old
#9  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 280
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by camspy View Post
My router is http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/e1200
With laptop I can push 200mbps, so it is not the router who isn't capable....

Which 5ghz channel are you on?
Here you go. Linksys E2000 router, tomato firmware.





Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
 
double07
Old
(Last edited by double07; 30th May 2014 at 02:05 AM.)
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2008
I just got my NP12 yesterday. I am using Netgear R7000. My link speed is 600mbps to low 700mbps. The most I got from N10 2014 is 433mpbs. That is becuase it is single antanna compare to dual antanna on NP12.


Thread Tools
Display Modes