Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How speedy is WiFi on Note Pro 12.2?

OP camspy

6th May 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #1  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 242
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
So, I have got speedy fiber internet here now and I was keen to see how it slays on my Note Pro, however, it didn't really blown me away, since I was stating around 60-80mbps speed only. My connection is 450mbps MAX on WiFi, so I think it is theoretic speed of my wifi router, so well, something like 200mbps could be possible to achieve.

So, how speedy is WIFI of Note Pro? Any ways to make it even faster?
8th May 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #2  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 242
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Anyone?
Note Pro's WiFi is documented to be AC, so it should be able to push a lot...
8th May 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 13
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Well, even with the best circumstances, you're never likely to see 200Mb/s, let alone 450Mb/s. There are a lot of factors that explain why you'll never get close to theoretical advertised speeds. Overhead, interference, distance, duplex, access point performance, band, etc. Or yeah, the tablet could always be the bottleneck.

I assume you have an AC router? But are you also on 5GHz or 2.4? That can make a huge difference. How far from the AP are you? Have you tried changing channels?
9th May 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #4  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 242
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I don't yet use AC, just N and 5ghz. With my laptop, 1m from router I am hitting close to 180mbps,, with tablet - the same 70-90mbps, twice less...
9th May 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #5  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 75
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Always around 270-300mbps when in the same room as my Linksys E2000 router

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
12th May 2014, 11:39 AM   |  #6  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 242
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo99x

Always around 270-300mbps when in the same room as my Linksys E2000 router

weird, my router is also N stanard, but I can't reach 100mbps
12th May 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #7  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 75
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
There are different types of N. N150, N300, N450 it all depends how many antennas are used. (MIMO)

Try a different 5ghz channel on your router.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
12th May 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #8  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 242
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
My router is http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/e1200
With laptop I can push 200mbps, so it is not the router who isn't capable....

Which 5ghz channel are you on?
12th May 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #9  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 75
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by camspy

My router is http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/e1200
With laptop I can push 200mbps, so it is not the router who isn't capable....

Which 5ghz channel are you on?

Here you go. Linksys E2000 router, tomato firmware.





Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
26th May 2014, 01:29 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I just got my NP12 yesterday. I am using Netgear R7000. My link speed is 600mbps to low 700mbps. The most I got from N10 2014 is 433mpbs. That is becuase it is single antanna compare to dual antanna on NP12.

Last edited by double07; 30th May 2014 at 03:05 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes