Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,386 Members 38,662 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Possible to Convert LS980 to D802 ?

Tip us?
 
GTRanushka
Old
#1  
GTRanushka's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kandy
Question Possible to Convert LS980 to D802 ?

Please HELP!!!
can you guys please tell me is it possible to convert Sprint LG G2 (LS980) to International version (D802) firmware?
looking foward for your help.
thank you!
 
amcferrin90
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CMH
Yes it is possible with lots of searching and hacking. It is way easier to do permanent SIM unlock procedure and easier than that, use a custom ROM. See link:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2655133

Here's my knowledge from the conversion. I could follow the steps in that post but the phone never really worked right. The steps to make the phone work on GSM carriers caused menus to disappear from within the phone, such as ability to change APNs. It works but there's a better way.

I flashed an AOSP ROM to my phone. Shameless plug here for LiquidSmooth beta, I've had the least problems getting a working phone with that ROM, actually works out of the box. While on AOSP, I can replace my Sprint LTE SIM with that of another carrier, reboot the phone and then go to the *#*#4636#*#* menu and change radio mode to GSM. I'm using an AT&T SIM now, domestic even and can SMS, MMS and have HSPA+ data, no LTE. If for some silly reason I want to switch back to Sprint, just swap SIM card, reboot phone, change radio mode in the hidden menu. Simple.
The Following User Says Thank You to amcferrin90 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GTRanushka
Old
#3  
GTRanushka's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kandy
Prompt Replace a D802 stock rom on a LS980 Stock rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by amcferrin90 View Post
Yes it is possible with lots of searching and hacking. It is way easier to do permanent SIM unlock procedure and easier than that, use a custom ROM. See link:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2655133

Here's my knowledge from the conversion. I could follow the steps in that post but the phone never really worked right. The steps to make the phone work on GSM carriers caused menus to disappear from within the phone, such as ability to change APNs. It works but there's a better way.

I flashed an AOSP ROM to my phone. Shameless plug here for LiquidSmooth beta, I've had the least problems getting a working phone with that ROM, actually works out of the box. While on AOSP, I can replace my Sprint LTE SIM with that of another carrier, reboot the phone and then go to the *#*#4636#*#* menu and change radio mode to GSM. I'm using an AT&T SIM now, domestic even and can SMS, MMS and have HSPA+ data, no LTE. If for some silly reason I want to switch back to Sprint, just swap SIM card, reboot phone, change radio mode in the hidden menu. Simple.
Thank you very much mate ! but actually what i want is to have D802 (Stock) firmware on LS980. because D802 is getting updates so quickly. ( Knock Code) i searched for a way to convert but i couldn't find it. can you guys please tell me is it even possible? because both devices are have same hardware except the LTE band! looking forward for your advice. thank you!
 
amcferrin90
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CMH
I know it's possible. I read once what has to be done. There's some trickery that has to be done in the build.prop which makes the phone think it's another model which would allow the flash. All I can say is search. It is on the XDA forum. The term used was CID change. Found a ton in 2 minutes all related to HTC One on Google, finding the G2 should be easy enough with search.
 
bobgeneric
Old
#5  
bobgeneric's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 499
Join Date: Feb 2012
Once time converted, the frequencies GSM 850/900/1800/1900, UMTS 850/900/1900/2100 (3G), LTE 800/900/1800/2100/2600 (4G) it work or not?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes